Creamy Yogurt Poppyseed Dressing (Vegan!) and a Pear Pecan Salad

‘Tis the season of salads! Sharing a quick and easy recipe that I came up with just this afternoon for lunch.

IMG_5211x

I was craving something fruity, found a pear in the fridge (which must have been sitting there since who knows when), and thought that a poppyseed dressing would go great with the pear along with some toasted pecans.

I realize after I made this that this salad has more of an autumn flair, but you can definitely switch up the fruit and use strawberries or even peaches for a more seasonal salad. By the way, peaches and poppyseed dressing go amazing together.

IMG_5209x

Speaking of combinations, pears + pecans are great, but the star is definitely this poppyseed dressing. It’s creamy and rich without using any added fat and is 100% vegan, which, in my opinion, is great because I try not to mix dairy with green vegetables together.

Although I limit my dairy consumption for environmental and animal reasons, I am not 100% dairy-free. However, I try to avoid eating dairy together with vegetables because research has found that dairy blocks the body’s absorption of vegetable nutrients. It’s not a big deal (I’m not super adamant on avoiding dairy + vegetable), but just trying to share some nutrition tidbits.

Nutrition aside, I also like this dressing just for the little tidbits of poppy seeds in there for that teeny bit of crunch.

Also, did you know poppy seeds are a type of opioid and if you eat enough of it you can get high? Just wanted to point out that I NEVER TRIED THIS before, but now you know. Point is, you might want to go easy on the poppy seeds…

IMG_5223x.jpg

Anyways, enough factoids. On to the dressing itself! All you need for the dressing is really: organic soy yogurt, honey, poppy seeds, salt and pepper to taste. Click below for the full recipe of this salad.

Pear & Pecan Salad with Creamy Poppyseed Dressing (vegan)

For the dressing
1/2 cup plain soy yogurt (or regular plain yogurt)*
1-2 tbsp poppy seeds
1-2 tsp organic honey (to taste)
salt + pepper
Optional: rice vinegar**

*I like Nancy’s Organic brand for the soy yogurt. If you don’t use soy yogurt, you can definitely use regular ol’ plain yogurt. I am not dairy-free, but I try to reduce my dairy consumption when possible because the dairy industry is not the best for the environment.

**I did not use the rice vinegar because soy yogurt is runnier than regular dairy yogurt

Mix the above ingredients well.

For the salad
8 heaping cups of baby green mix
1-3 tsp extra virgin olive (to taste)
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
salt + pepper
1 fresh pear, sliced
Toasted pecans

I just mixed all the ingredients together above. I also set some pear slices and pecans aside to garnish on top. Then I just topped it with the dressing! Simple!


Hope y’all enjoy! By the way, for those on Instagram and Facebook, feel free to follow my new food Instagram @tangykitchen and “Like” my food Facebook page: Facebook.com/TheTangyKitchen! 😉 Thanks so much y’all! ❤ ❤

3 thoughts on “Creamy Yogurt Poppyseed Dressing (Vegan!) and a Pear Pecan Salad

Leave a Reply

