🍅 Tomato + 🍳 Egg + 🌱 Spinach! 西红柿炒鸡蛋加菠菜

Try this spin on the classic Tomato and Egg with spinach!

Practically every person from a Chinese household has his or her own version on Tomato and Egg. I shared my healthy take on the recipe in a previous blog post. This time, I’m sharing another version of this dish that I came up with yesterday for lunch.

IMG_0194.JPG

I had just come back from the gym / am still recovering from a cold / too lazy to cook anything spectacular. I wanted tomato + egg, but I also wanted some leafy greens, so I experimented with the recipe by adding baby spinach.

SONY DSC

When I tried the end results, I was thinking why hadn’t come up with this sooner. It was like a PB&J sandwich with strawberry slices added in the middle. Tomato + egg + spinach. The combination just goes together. Before trying this, I would always make tomato + egg + spinach soup, but I never tried spinach with tomato + egg stir fry.

SONY DSC

I probably still prefer the classic tomato + egg over the dish with spinach, and I normally pair my tomato + egg with my juicy crunchy stir-fry bok choy (like the photo below ~ my dinner yesterday lol), but whenever I am making tomato + egg and want some leafy greens as well, and additionally do not feel like making a second dish, I’ll definitely be doing this again.

IMG_0200x


Tomato and Egg + Spinach 西红柿炒鸡蛋加菠菜
Serves One.

1 egg (preferably organic + cage-free)
1 egg white (from a carton, or just use two eggs)
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp ground turmeric
Pinch salt

1-2 roma or house tomatoes
3-4 cups baby spinach (seems like a lot but it wilts)
2-3 cloves of garlic
Salt to taste
Avocado oil, for the wok

First, I like to chop the tomatoes into 1.5 inch chunks, crush + mince the garlic. Then I preheat a wok on High heat, and whisk together the first bunch of ingredients. Once the wok is hot, I add in maybe 1/2 tsp avocado oil (I don’t measure it, but I don’t use a lot) to the wok. Then I add the whisked eggs. I maybe turn the heat down to medium-high heat, and let the eggs fry without touching it! Sort of like making an omelet, but before it turns into an omelet, I gently pull the sides of the egg to scramble. This method is very different from typical American scramble eggs.

Anyways, once the eggs are fully cooked, I simply push it to the side of the wok. Some people transfer the eggs to a plate, but I find that unnecessary. Without adding any additional oil (as some might do), I simply add in the garlic and chopped tomatoes. Salt the tomatoes, so that their water comes out. I then let it cook for maybe 5-8 minutes until the tomatoes are soft and silky.

This is the classic tomato + egg. If you’re doing the spinach addition, you can add the spinach once the tomatoes are almost done. Cover the wok, turn the heat down to low, and let the spinach wilt.

Serve over steamed rice! I like jasmine brown rice.

2 thoughts on “🍅 Tomato + 🍳 Egg + 🌱 Spinach! 西红柿炒鸡蛋加菠菜

Leave a Reply

