👟 Two Runs, 🍅 My Tomato + Egg Recipe 🍳, Tuesday Springtime Bliss ☀️

Spring Bliss. Two spontaneous runs, Princeton blooms 🌸, and my post-run-and-walk dinner, Tomato and Egg.

Click below to find out why I ran two times in one day, see pictures of pretty flowers, and get the recipe to my stir-fried garlic bok choy + my “secret” to the sunniest and fluffiest tomato eggs.


Past Monday was a really active day, so I woke up Tuesday morning feeling voracious! Started the day off with a Sweet Omelet 🍌🍓, or what was supposed to be a sweet omelet… 🙈

Now, before I lose credibility to my own recipe, I’d say 98% of the time, my sweet omelets turn out perfect, but I think this time I accidentally had the heat on too high which caused the omelet to stick. 😦

IMG_6141

Still, I think I still managed to make the plating looks kind of nice and, most importantly, it was a delicious and nutritious pre-workout breakfast. 😋  I’ll post the sweet omelet recipe another time because this time it was not successful, but the ingredients are simply: coconut flour + egg whites + baking powder + stevia.

I topped with my peanut-honey spread (recipe in the previous posts), strawbs, banana coins 🍌, and cacao nibs. And as always, I had my daily morning tea on the side. That morning, I was feeling oolong.

I let that sit, and after a couple hours, I finaaaally forced myself to go to the gym. Honestly, I didn’t feel like working out that morning and even debated whether to just save my workout for later. However, every Tuesday I have a THREE HOUR afternoon class from 1:30-4:30p, and knowing that I get super antsy when I have to sit for that long, I always try to get in some form of exercise before that particular class.

So off to the gym I went! On Tuesday’s, I normally do cardio + strength training + yoga, but  so I didn’t have a particular workout plan in mind. All I knew was that I needed to just move.

And “just move” I did! It’s funny how sometimes the hardest part is just showing up. I did not feel like working out that morning, but once I stepped foot into the gym, I suddenly felt this wave of energy and motivation. I ended up running, SPRINTING even, squats, and lifting.

Specifically (for those curious), I did a 10 min incline walk, 10 min elliptical, 10 min FAST run, 5 min SPRINTS (run at my MAX speed).

I then followed that with strength training using dumbbells. Each exercise I did 10 x 3 reps (10 reps, rest x 3 times): Goblet Squats (one 25 lb dumbbell); Bent-over Rows (15 lbs each hand); Step-up + Twists (10 lb plate); assisted Pull-Ups; aaand a bunch of exercise I forgot… lol.

I planned on just getting some light exercise before class, but I ended up drenched. How did that happen? 😅   I didn’t want to stink up the whole class and embarrass myself, so I immediately headed back for a quick shower and a bite to eat!


After showering and gobbling down a few leftovers, it was still 20 minutes before 1:30 class, and so I had plenty of time. But then I realized that I had LOST MY MISFIT TRACKER!!  WHAT. 😦 I raided my entire room, making a HUGE MESS. I spent 15 minutes before finding it stuck to the wire frame of my laundry basket. That little misfit tracker has a strong magnet in it, and it will stick to anything metal. At least I did not actually lose it, but I was 5 minutes late for class.

Anyways, despite it being three hours long, I normally enjoy my Tuesday class because it’s Chinese cinema, and so we just discuss interesting Chinese films, culture, history, and society. I love talking about this stuff; even though I was born in the U.S., I enjoy learning about my ethnic identity.

However, going to class yesterday was almost “torture” (and I mean that in an exaggerated way) because the Spring afternoon weather was too beautiful to be wasted inside discussing films.


Finally, three hours later, freedom came at last.

IMG_6138
Free at Last // post-class afternoon sight

I was feeling so high off of good weather and good energy that I did not want to stay indoors. I decided to go for a walk, but 5 minutes into it, I felt like I had so much energy to spare, so despite sweating hard in my workout earlier that day, I decided to go for a second run of the day!

IMG_6074x.jpg
Afternoon Run & Sun

Before you say I’m crazy, the run only lasted 1 mile because my legs were too sore from earlier. Still, I wanted to continue enjoying the gorgeous afternoon weather and ended up walking to a slice of Princeton that I had never encountered!

Because the pink magnolias have already fallen, I thought that there were no more blooming trees left, and that made me very sad. 😦 But little did I know that outside of campus, there were still so many different kind of flowering trees! 🌸

IMG_6135x
White Cherry

Needless to say, I spent the rest of my afternoon: looking up to take pictures of flowers. 🙂

On my post-run walk, I stumbled upon a pink flower tree that I had not seen before. All I knew was that the flowers were not pink cherry blossoms. (One of my followers on Instagram later told me that it’s a Kwanzan tree).

🌸

Then I got kind of hungry and headed back for dinner. On the way, I started to make a little bouquet.

I know it’s not good to pick wildflowers, but in my own defense, it just a tiny little sprig, and the yellow flowers are dandelions, which is technically considered a weed. 🌸


Anyways, my walk got me craving something light yet comforting, and whenever that happens, I always make tomato and egg + garlic bok choy + steamed jasmine brown rice. A Classic “Vivian” Combination. 🍅 🍳🌱🍚

And so dinner was this. 🌸  Featuring my homemade bouquet. Everything on this table for Me, Myself, and I. Yup, ya girl can eat. 😉

SONY DSC

Tomato and Egg 西红柿炒鸡蛋 is a very special dish to me because it’s the first dish that I learned to cook when I was in middle school or somewhere around that time. That being said, ask any Chinese person, and he or she will say that they grew up eating Tomato and Egg. It’s a very simple dish: unassuming yet amazingly comforting.

SONY DSC

Despite the fact that Tomato + Egg is a classic Chinese dish, there are tons of variation, and every Chinese has his/her own way of making it. Some simply just do tomato + eggs. Some add scallions, some add garlic (ME!!), and some add dried shrimp (not me haha). Some even stir-fry the tomatoes before cooking the eggs, which to me is a very incorrect way to make it, or at least cooking the tomatoes first was not the way I was taught.

By the way, if you’re Chinese, or just like to cook Chinese food, and reading this, how do you cook your Tomato and Eggs?

When it comes my version of Tomato + Egg 🍅 🍳, I think my method and my ingredients are pretty traditional, but I do add a few things to spruce things up. First of all, obviously, my version is a lot healthier. While tomato + egg is already a pretty healthy dish, it is still often saturated with a lot of oil. According to my mom and many Chinese chefs, you need to fry the egg in enough oil to get that soft egg texture. Well, I figured out a way to make super fluffy eggs without a ton of oil. I merely use 1/2 tsp per person in my recipe, but the eggs still turn out super fluffy. Read on to find out my secrets!

  • When I’m cooking this dish just for myself, I like use 1 whole organic egg + 1 egg white from a carton. This makes the dish higher in protein but also lower in fat and calories.
  • Because I add the egg white, the color is less yellow, so I add turmeric to my eggs to give it that golden sunny color while also adding anti-inflammatory benefits. If you don’t know how good turmeric is for you, just google it.
  • I then add baking powder to my eggs. This is my “top secret.” It makes the eggs SUPER fluffy.
  • I think garlic is a classic flavoring agent in tomatoes and eggs, but maybe that’s just my family? I’ve eaten many tomatoes and eggs with onions, with shrimp, etc. I think garlic is the best because I grew up with it, and because it just goes super well with the tomatoes.
  • I didn’t do it this time, but I also sometimes add pre-steamed broccoli or firm tofu to my tomatoes and eggs to add more volume. Also because I eat (and work out) a lot hahaha. 😉

Lastly, I love pairing this Tomato + Egg dish with stir-fried bok choy. I don’t what it is, but I’ve been eating it this way since growing up, and so I never bothered to question it.

So here’s my recipe! Also before you judge, I am putting my name in the recipe because there’s hundreds of ways to make this dish, and this is mine. 🙂


Vivian Tang’s Sunny Tomato and Egg 西红柿炒鸡蛋
Serves One.

1 egg (preferably organic + cage-free)
1 egg white (from a carton)
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp ground turmeric
Pinch salt

1-2 roma tomatoes
2-3 cloves of garlic
Salt to taste
Avocado oil, for the wok

First, I like to chop the tomatoes into 1.5 inch chunks, crush + mince the garlic. Then I preheat a wok on High heat, and whisk together the first bunch of ingredients. Once the wok is hot, I add in maybe 1/2 tsp avocado oil (I don’t measure it, but I don’t use a lot) to the wok. Then I add the whisked eggs. I maybe turn the heat down to medium-high heat, and let the eggs fry without touching it! Sort of like making an omelet, but before it turns into an omelet, I gently pull the sides of the egg to scramble. This method is very different from typical American scramble eggs.

Anyways, once the eggs are fully cooked, I simply push it to the side of the wok. Some people transfer the eggs to a plate, but I find that unnecessary. Without adding any additional oil (as some might do), I simply add in the garlic and chopped tomatoes. Salt the tomatoes, so that their water comes out. I then let it cook for maybe 5-8 minutes until the tomatoes are soft and silky.


Juicy Crunchy Stir-fried Garlic Bok Choy

Bok Choy #recipe #healthy

Bok Choy
2-3 cloves of garlic
Coconut oil (or avocado oil)

I first wash the bok choy, and I chop them, leaving the stems and leaves separate. I then chop the garlic.

Preheat a wok to high. Add in the coconut oil (or avocado oil) — I LOVE the taste of rich coconut oil with silky soft bok choy, so that’s what I use. Add in the garlic. Fry for a couple minutes, and then add the bok choy STEMS. Cook until almost soft and tender, and then add the leaves. Some people may like their bok choy very raw; I like mine the middle between crunchy, juicy, and soft.


TOMATO and EGG #healthy #recipe #tomatoandegg

And that was my Tuesday! Oh, and I ended the night with some readings and this not-so-photogenic microwave Chocolate Cake.

Chocolate mugcake

Lately, I’ve been so lazy when it comes to baking (I used to bake at least once a week). I think it’s because of the warmer weather, and there’s no A/C in the dorm room, and so baking would just make the room hotter. I don’t have a sweet tooth, but I do crave baked goods often, so I make these “healthy” cakes in the microwave! This cake was just coconut flour + cocoa powder + egg whites + baking powder + stevia. Nuke in the microwave for 1-2 minutes. Top with peanut butter. Done.


Thanks for reading! ❤

Don’t forget to follow me on:
Instagram @vivanttang
Snapchat: @vivalatang (where I share a lot more of my lifestyle, workouts, and casual recipes!)

xx, vt

6 thoughts on “👟 Two Runs, 🍅 My Tomato + Egg Recipe 🍳, Tuesday Springtime Bliss ☀️

  1. Those are such beautiful flowers!! I cannot wait to look for your sweet omelet recipe too 🙂 I make egg white omelets all the time and nothing bothers me more than when they turn out too flat 😦 this is wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

