Move it Monday, Motivation, and Monday’s Meatless Recipes

After running and walking a total of 23,000(!) steps yesterday, I thought that I would be totally exhausted the following day Monday. Surprisingly, I woke up this morning brimming with energy and excitement! I think this is because of three reasons:

  1. MOTION BEGETS MOTION. Indeed, Newton’s 1st (or 3rd?) Law states that a body in motion stays in motion. LOL. As if I know a thing about physics. 😉 But seriously, being active is like a domino effect. Once you make exercise a habit, you suddenly start to CRAVE MOVEMENT. Which is what I craved this morning.
  2. I had a chocolate protein “bowl cake” (it was on my snapchat @vivalatang) before going to bed last night, so I woke up feeling fueled, and…
  3. I had a lot to look forward to this Monday!

If you’re looking for ways to keep consistently motivated, one of the many ways I keep motivated is having something to look forward to the night before. For example, yesterday Sunday I didn’t even want to sleep because I had so many things I wanted to work on, and so today I woke up with lots of good vibes in the form of energy and excitement for the day to begin! 🙂 Thus, I decided to get some exercise in first thing, so that I could work on whatever I wanted for the rest of the morning. As I mentioned in a previous blog post, I generally start Mondays off (or at least try to) with exercise because I think it sets momentum for the rest of the week. 💪

I generally do not plan what I’m going to do first thing in the morning. Because this exercise is fasted, I just let my body decide on the spot whether I want to stretch, run, walk, or just plain eat. Also, I don’t do any strength training while in a fasted state. Since I woke up brimming with energy today, I decided to go for an impromptu run, which to be honest, is sort of a crazy idea given that my legs were still so tired from yesterday’s 23K steps. However, my mind and the rest of my body (lol) felt like moving and sweating, and so, after foam rolling, I headed to the gym for my Monday morning run!

postcardio 4.18.16

I ended up doing 5 min walk, 2.0 mi run before my legs gave out, 10 min elliptical, and then, my legs got super tired, but I still had so much energy, so I erged (row machine) for 5 minutes. I love using the row machine at the end of my running/elliptical sessions. Erging is really a full-body exercise, but I like to think of it as cardio for my upper body plus some low-impact leg work.

Anyways, cardio this morning just flew by, mostly because before going to the gym, I got a text from my mom showing me pics of the crazy weather she was experiencing back home in Houston, Texas!

Luckily, that isn’t our car, but still the level of flood is scary. The entire city basically had to shut down. Schools closed, offices closed. At least a three-day weekend? I was also mostly just concerned about the poor pups holding in their pee this morning. And the wild rabbits! Hopefully they’re ok. 😦 And hope all my Houston readers are safe and sound as well. #HoustonFlood

On the other hand, Princeton’s weather was absolutely sunny and gorgeous. ☀ For once, the weather up North is actually better than weather back at home! Crazy stuff!

Got back from the gym to my apartment, and I was feeling extra hungry, so I made a big breakfast / early brunch featuring this Turmeric Egg Scramble with Kale and Avocado.

Okay, also, just want to mention that this post is not going to show you every single thing I ate today lol. I personally am not fond of those kind of posts because I think everyone and everyday is different in terms of eats! This post’s sole purpose to show with you the recipes that I made today to give you some fun and healthy food ideas! 🙂 I just want a casual way to share my recipes, so that I could make helping everyone easier for me! ^_^

Moving on…

BONUS TIP #1. I love adding turmeric to my eggs. I came up with this idea on my own because I normally mix together whole eggs and egg whites in my omelets (for more protein), and I wanted the omelet to still have that sunny yellow color despite having egg whites. The turmeric not only gives the omelet a sunnier yellow color, but the spice is filled with nutrients and and anti-inflammatory properties.

Here’s how I made the omelet (for one).

1 organic egg
1 egg white
3 scallions, chopped
Pinch of turmeric, baking powder*, salt to taste

Shittake mushrooms
Kale
Roasted red pepper (from a jar)
1/2 Avocado
Etc.

S + P to taste

*Baking powder is my ultimate top secret to extra fluffy eggs! Shh…!

I first whisked together the egg, egg white, and scallions, along with a pinch of turmeric + baking powder + salt to taste.

I then heated up a wok / skillet to medium high. Added some fresh-sliced shittake mushrooms (including the stems) + coconut oil. Fry for a few second then add the kale. Salt to taste. Pour in the egg + scallion mix. Scramble. Top with roasted red peppers.

Transfer to a plate. Top with 1/2 of an avocado.

IMG_5941x

BONUS TIP #2. Eat kimchi! ^_^ Not only does it give you digestive health but also bad breath (lolol). But seriously, I love kimchi. It’s so tasty (and yes the probiotics in kimchi gets things moving!)

After eating this, I realized that brunch was not only vegetarian but also paleo! You see? Two can get along. 😉

But my paleo diet only lasted a couple hours after I made this snack: Chocolate Toast! I used the same Cocoa Spread recipe that I shared in yesterday’s post. I also topped it with peanut-honey spread that I also shared yesterday.

The cocoa spread is low-calorie / sugar-free and is made with cocoa powder + unsweetened almond milk + stevia.

The peanut spread is low-fat / high-protein and is made with peanut flour + unsweetened almond milk + honey.

I also had some fruit (mandarins + banana).

Meanwhile, my mom sent me a photo of the BEAUTIFUL GORGEOUS GREEN JUICE. 💚

IMG_6060.JPG

She was trapped inside by the #HoustonFlood with no access to wifi or TV, so she made a bunch of stuff in the kitchen: her steamed buns, biscotti, and this 100% kale juice using our very own grade fresh kale. She said she only flavored it with stevia. 😳  It doesn’t sound very appetizing to me, but she said it tasted delicious.

Princeton weather is amazing all week, but this makes me wish I were home in the rainstorm! 😝


Then I went to class, ran errands, and went back to my room and tried to do some work, but my apartment has no A/C, so it was too hot to concentrate. I luckily have a small fan, but I really should not have gone back to my room. Nevertheless, I got super lazy and ended up spending my afternoon snacking on a bunch of stuff that I forgot haha.

Anyways, after putting it off for forever, I finally got to my yoga practice and ended up doing a beautiful nice slow Sunset Flow. It felt so amazing, especially because I was doing yoga while the sun was setting. I can’t wake up early enough to do sun salutations at sunrise, but I sure do love a good sun salutation flow at sunset. Juicy Yummy Yoga for dinner. ❤

After yoga, I went for a short evening walk with the Moon.

IMG_5996
#rawimage #nofilter

Then, I came back from the short walk for my real dinner. I was feeling super lazy because of the heat in my apartment and did not feel like cooking. Luckily, leftovers saved the day!!!!!

IMG_5999x

I did cook some fresh jasmine brown rice, and to that, I topped it with:

  • Pressed 5-Spice Tofu (called 豆干 in Chinese). This basically is tofu that has been pressed and season with spices, and it is an absolute staple of mine. It’s high in healthy protein and is vegan. I’d imagine that if you’re a vegan (I’m not) and miss the texture of hardboiled egg whites, then you would love this product! It can be found in Asian grocery stores.
  • Garlic Bok Choy. Leftovers from yesterday’s dinner.
  • Steamed kabocha. I always steam a bunch and have this on hand in the fridge.
  • Kimchi. Duh.
  • Toasted black sesame seeds for flavor.
  • And then I dosed the bowl with organic soy sauce.

After dinner, I was still hungry, so I made a random chocolate cake that I cooked in the microwave. I literally just threw this together, but it actually turned out really good!

10 g coconut flour, 10 g cocoa powder, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 30 g egg whites, 30 g unsweetened almond milk, stevia.

Microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds.

And that’s was my Monday in a nutshell!

How did you start the first day of the week?

Leave a Reply

