🐰 Egg Hunt Brunch (Crispy Kale & Carrot Omelet)

Go on an edible scavenger hunt with this egg hunt brunch: open-faced omelet with crispy kale & sweet carrot ribbons in case your need somebunny to help you find the eggs. 🐰

Hidden Egg Hunt Omelet

Although my family has never been religious, we celebrated Easter because it was just a fun way to spend a Sunday. As a kid, my parents would take me to the Easter “Eggtravaganza,” and I loved all the fun and games like balancing an egg in a spoon with your mouth while walking across the field, getting my face painted, and of course the Easter egg hunt, which was very exciting for the competitive little monster that I was. 😉

One Sunday I woke up and found a plastic egg in the bathroom or somewhere unexpected like that, only to realize that my mom had hidden them all over the house. We also hosted fun little egg hunts for my friends in our backyard, hiding plastic eggs in shoes, tree logs, and fun places like that.

SONY DSC

I think I loved Easter not for the candies and chocolates but because it’s a day of discovering little bundles of joy in unassuming places (or really just racing other little children and to fill my basket with the most eggs).

I stopped doing those fun Easter activities maybe in 3rd grade, and now, as a burgeoning adult, I celebrate Easter through my only fun activity these days: food… 😦 But seriously, when your life is all about work, as it is for me because I’m trying to finish my thesis, food is the best part of the day. 😆 Sunday brunch is always a good ideas, but still I miss the egg hunt!

So I made a little egg hunt with my omelet. Kale for the “bush” or “grass,” if you will, and sweet carrot ribbons in case you need some-bunny to help you find the eggs because if you look at it, it seems as if this isn’t an omelet but just a pile of veggies.

But then you’d lift up and see….

revealing

omelet

Found the eggs. 😉

SONY DSC

Served with homemade colorful steamed buns made by my mom. I always bring a few of these from home to school!

100% whole wheat, vegan, 100% naturally dyed (matcha, ube, and turmeric). Soft, chewy, and light: sooo perfect for spring!

blurred

Recipe for the egg hunt brunch below!


Hidden Egg Omelet
For one; easily doubled, tripled, etc.

Note: I used lacinto or dinosaur kale in this recipe, but you can also use the standard curly kale.

Ingredients:
2 organic eggs (or 1 egg + 2 egg whites)
A good bunch of fresh kale (2-3 cups chopped)
1 medium carrot
1/2 tsp coconut oil
Salt + pepper, to taste
Spices: paprika, turmeric, chili flakes, etc.

Prep: 
Wash + destem the kale (remove stem from leaves). If the stems are tender (they were tender for my bunch), you can eat them. Otherwise, save them for juice or just toss them.

Roll up the kale leaves and chop them into 1/2 inch pieces. I get about 2-3 cups chopped. Using a vegetable peeler, make carrot ribbons.

Beat the eggs in a bowl. Season eggs with salt to taste. Secret tip: I sometimes add in a pinch of baking powder to the eggs to get them extra fluffy! Let me know if you try it out. 😉

Cook:
Over medium-high heat, add the kale stems to a dry pan, along with some salt. The stems take longer to cook, so I like to give them a head start.

After a couple minutes of wilting the kale stems, add couple teaspoons coconut oil to a heated nonstick pan on medium-high heat. Add kale leaves & carrots. Let it cook a couple minutes.

While the kale is still a bit undone, season kale with salt and pepper to taste. Then, add the beaten eggs. You want to make sure you don’t add the eggs too late, or else your kale would over cook.

Cover the pan. You may need to turn down the heat a knotch or two. After a couple minutes, lift up the lid. You can add some spices if you like here. I personally love paprika in my eggs. When the eggs are done, carefully flip the entire egg omelet with a spatula.

On the bottom should be the “egg side,” and the top should be the “veggie side.” You decide which side to serve. 😉

Enjoy!


I’m curious to know!

Did you love the Easter egg hunts growing up? What sort of activities did you and your family do on Easter?

Leave a Reply

