Carrot Cake Oatmeal 🐰 with Yogurt Frosting

🐰 Frosted Carrot Cake disguised as porridge. Basically, breakfast that feels like dessert but is actually a nutritious bowl full of healthy goodies like oats, flax, walnuts, and even a vegetable. 😉 While this is not a cake per se, its carrot cake flavors are spot on, so you can satisfy that springtime craving first thing in the morning!

SONY DSC

I haven’t done any baking for almost 5-6 weeks now. 😦 Considering that I normally bake every week, that’s waaay too long of a time for me! There’s so many things I’ve been craving to make, like: my pink lemonade flower cakes, my homemade banana bread, my protein brownies… And some healthy spring desserts like carrot cake. Sadly,  these last few months of school has been so stressful, and baking just seems like a complete waste of time. Less than 2 months…

Even now, and especially now, I way too busy with uni work, specifically my senior thesis which I need to finish in order to get my degree.

SONY DSC

All the Springtime desserts popping up on my Instagram feed isn’t helping either. (Maybe if I stop using Instagram, then I’d have time to bake haha 😂.)

I actually am going to stop using Instagram starting Friday night, so I can spend my entire weekend locked up in 🔥 Thesis Hell 🔥, but, anyways, even though I don’t have time to bake, I’m not going to let my dessert cravings go unquenched!

People ask me very often how I manage to eat healthy all the time. Don’t I have cravings? Do I ever NOT eat healthy? Yes and yes, but whenever I have a not-so-healthy craving, I make a healthier version of it, and I always end up enjoying my homemade healthy version so much better!

This is how I can have my dessert and eat it too.

While this recipe is not cake per se, it has the flavor of carrot cake, and makes me feel like I’m having a luxurious dessert for breakfast when it really is just a bowl of porridge (with lots of nutrition of course!) 😆

1dsc07680x


I actually came up with this oatmeal last year April 2015, when I had some serious carrot cake craving but likewise didn’t have time to bake it because I was working my Junior Paper (Yup Princeton makes us do all these crazy independent work…).

This year, I am not craving carrot cake (at least not yet), but since spring is here, I thought I might as well share it before the Easter weekend.Thing is, I don’t celebrate the religious aspect of Easter, but any holiday involving good food is something I’ll partake in haha.

Carrot cake!

Traditional carrot cake may have carrots in it, but it’s not healthy because it’s often loaded with sugar and vegetable oil.

Obviously being oatmeal, this is already a nutritional step-up. 👌 In addition to oats, this porridge has flax and walnuts for omega-3’s, turmeric for antioxidants (and that gorgeous orange color!), egg whites for protein, yogurt for protein and probiotics.

While this Carrot Cake Oatmeal may not be cake, the flavors are spot on. Plus, you’ll feel great afterwards and save time.

Speaking of saving time, here’s a few meal prep tips I have for making oatmeal in a jiffy for those busy mornings. 

  • I start off with already-cooked steel cut oats. What I like to do is cook 4-5 servings of steel cut oats in the slow cooker overnight, and then I’m set for the rest of the week or any time I want oatmeal.

To cook the steel cut oats in the slow cooker, it’s just water + steel cut oats. Make sure you double the amount of water if you’re cooking it overnight as opposed to a stove.

If you don’t use steel-cut oats, you can definitely just use rolled oats in this recipe!

  • I use pre-shredded carrots. I shred a bunch of carrots at once and leave in them in the freezer for up to a couple weeks or in the fridge for a few days. Ain’t nobody got time to shred carrots in the morning. At least not me!

  • BONUS tip: I love adding egg whites to my oatmeal because it adds protein and volume to my oats; plus, it makes oatmeal fluffy. You can leave it out if you are vegan / if you want!


Carrot Cake Oatmeal

For one.

Oatmeal:
Oatmeal: 1 serving, (see above tips & below)*
Carrots, shredded: 1/2 cup
Water: 1/4 – 1/2 cup**
Raisins: 2-3 tbsp

Egg whites: 1/4 cup
Ground flaxseeds: 2 tsp
Milk: 1/4 cup (I used soy but any kind of milk works)

Cinnamon: 1/2 tsp
Turmeric: 1/4 tsp***
Ginger: 1/4 tsp
Vanilla: 1/2 tsp
Stevia: a few drops (or honey)
Pinch salt

Frosting:
Yogurt + stevia (I would use a dairy-free yogurt bc I don’t eat dairy anymore mostly for environmental and health reasons, but greek is fine too)

Toppings: This is just what I use (see pics). Feel free to use anything!
Walnuts: to taste
More raisins: to taste
Almond butter
Coconut flakes (optional, but I think some carrot cakes have this ingredient. Maybe it’s a Southern thing.)

*If you don’t have steel cut oats, you can certainly use regular old rolled oats, about 1/2 – 2/3 cup uncooked rolled oats.

**The amount of water is for cooked steel cut oats. I like to loosen up my steel cut oats with some water, as the leftover oats thicken up in the fridge. If you are starting with raw rolled oats, just cook them as you normally would.

***Of course turmeric is not traditionally added to carrot cake, but it’s soo good for you and also gives the porridge a lovely orange color.

In a saucepan, add your oatmeal, raisins, water, and carrots. Bring to a boil and cook until carrots are tender and raisins are plump, about 5 minutes.

Boiling Porridge

Then turn down the heat a notch and add in your egg whites. Use a spatula to stir the egg whites into the oats as it cook. Add in the flax, milk, spices, and sweetener. I use stevia.

Don’t get that pinch of salt. Salt brings out the flavors in everything!

SONY DSC

Transfer to bowl. Top with “frosting” and toppings. Serve with tea (optional but recommended! haha).

And enjoy! 🙂

Don’t forget to snap a picture of your oats, and share it with me on Instagram!! @vivanttang ❤ ❤

QOP (question of this post):

  1. How do you satisfy your dessert cravings?
  2. If you’re making this carrot cake oatmeal, what are you topping it with?

1IMG_0485

Leave a Reply

