Embrace the Drench 😅| Sweaty Workouts + Sore Core

💪 Just sharing two of my sweatiest workouts from this past week!

Warm weather 🌞, pretty flowers 🌸, and sweet strawberries 🍓 are all things I love about spring, but one of my favorite things is how sweat just pours out whenever I do a tough workout. Yup, I’m disgusting hahaha. 😅

It’s not that I don’t sweat in winter, but sweat just dries up soon after a workout due to the colder temperatures. Come spring and summer though, a tough workout means being drenched and dripping in sweat. GROSSSS I know hahaha. I love it.

Case in point: this past couple of days in workouts. I got in a workout every day of this week (actually have been working out every single day this month – feeling sort of proud of my self for not slacking off 🙂 haha), but Thursday’s and Friday’s were the best days because of the unusually warm 75+ degree weather.

Thursday’s amazing sweat session was: 20 min strength, 10 min elliptical warm up, 1 hour of lifting (focused on back + booty), 30 min run, 10 min elliptical cool down. Afterwards, my goodness, my shins were sweating. How I miss sweating in the weirdest places hahaha. Thursday’s workout also left my back + backside feeling strong and sore. 🙂

(See below for Thursday’s Strength + Cardio Workout!)

(1) Post-Run vs (2) Post-Cool Down


On Friday, as usual, I worked abs, which I usually just do the workout in my dorm room, even though my dorm isn’t very big because I like doing ab exercises barefoot. I think doing it without sneakers on helps my form and lets me target my abs better. I also keep in my dorm room my own stability ball and ankle weights, which are two of my favorite ab exercise equipment.

👉 Going off a tangent, I’m thinking about writing a blog post some time in the future on how I keep fit in the dorm room. I do go to the gym very often, but I actually do a huge chunk of my workouts in my dorm room because a lot of my workouts are bodyweight-focused, and I enjoy the privacy and ability to workout without having to wear my wireless earbuds that keep falling off (screw you Jaybird…).

👉 I normally go to the gym if I for either lifting, cardio, or both. So… If interested, I can share what I think are the essential workout equipments for keeping fit in college that are both dorm-friendly and storage-friendly. Let me know in the comments below if you want me to share this kind of stuff!

Anyways, I didn’t have much time that Friday morning to workout because I had an afternoon class (I know… Friday classes? boo-hoo), and I’m the kind of person who has to workout before class or else I won’t be able to concentrate.

But, just 30 minutes of ab exercises + jumping around left me like THIS.

IMG_1075x.jpg

DRENCHED.

It was an amazing and very challenging 35 minute core workout that I did my in TINY dorm. Now, I rarely get sore abs. Sore legs, sore back, sore arms are weekly things that I’m already used to and look forward to as well lol, but sore abs? Want them but barely get them. Maybe I don’t challenge my core enough, but this particular workout made my core so sore that laughing became a workout the next day. 😂

I did this workout right before heading to class (after a shower of course lol & a quick lunch). 💪

Friday’s sweaty sore core workout is below as well!


On Saturday, I felt like doing lots of burpees for some crazy reason. Like who actually craves burpees? Only weirdos (like me).

So… I did a workout similar to the one I shared last week’s Saturday, but I did not do any sprinting at all and did a loooooooot of burpees instead, including this Burpee Pyramid, which I’ll share some time in the future.

Saturday was also a crazy day for me. I woke up later than planned because I stayed up writing a paper, got in a morning workout, cooked up a late healthy lunch / brunch before packing literally to the last minute, hopped on the train to the airport, had to be *that* person who asks everyone if I could skip them in security, and finally got in a second workout by sprinting across the terminals to make it to my flight juuuuust on time. ✈️ 

Literally dead tired now. Anyways, see below for the workouts!


Thursday’s Back + Backside Workout + 3.0 mile run

Warm Up Circuit (50 / 10 x 9) x 2= 18 minutes
Butt kicks
Regular ol’ squats
Hip thrusts x 2
Stability Ball Ab Crunches x 2
Plank x 2
Toe Touches

Workout:
Repeat twice!
30 SB hip thrusts
30 SB abs
30 – 40 Bosu Bridge Pulses
30 Bosu Crunches

10 each Assisted chin ups + pull ups

Repeat twice!
30 Wall-facing squats with barbell
30-40 Elevated Bench Bridges
5 Real Dips
10 Bench Dips

10 each Assisted chin ups + pull ups

After this workout, I followed up with a 3.25 mile run. The run was the hardest part for me because I ran on the “dreadmill.” But at least I did it! Mental endurance is sometimes all it takes to keep going. That and a great high energy playlist. 😉


Friday’s Sore Core Workout
Equipment needed: stability ball + ankle weights (optional)

Part 0: Warm Up Yoga stretch (10 minutes)

Part 1: (50 seconds ON / 10 seconds OFF) x 8

Circuit 1: Repeat Circuit 1 twice in one round (for 8 exercises)
Stability Ball Crunches
Stability Ball Plank Tucks + Push up
Burpee + Push Ups + 4 Tuck Jumps
2 tuck jumps + 1 boat pose crunch

Circuit 2: Repeat Circuit 1 twice in one round (for 8 exercises)
Side Plank Tucks w/ Ankle Weights on
2 Boat Pose + 5 Tuck Jumps
Superwoman Plank Switches + optional Push up
Commandos

Part 2: Post-workout cardio, which I did not have time for because I had to go to class. I did, however, get in my cardio after class! 💪


Saturday’s Workout

Similar to the one I shared last Saturday, but with more burpees and no sprinting at all (did not feel like sprinting lol).


And on Sunday, I usually just take it easy and do a 3 mi morning run before brunch! 🙂 Sundays are my easy days because it’s all cardio and no strength training. Happy Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Embrace the Drench 😅| Sweaty Workouts + Sore Core

Leave a Reply

