💪 Tuck for Toned Abs (4 Exercises + Video!)

Was foam rolling my sore legs before going to the gym, and it “accidentally” turned into a mini core workout. Abs were on fire after this! 💪 Who knew the foam roller could be such a great ab equipment? 😉

foam tuckxx

I work core the day after I work legs, so this exercise is perfect. 👌 It burns your abs 🔥 while giving you a leg massage as well. Isn’t that nice? 😉

With the foam rolling plank tuck, I not only engage the abs, get in a little bit of shoulder work, but I also get a little leg massage. Multi-tasking at its finest. 😉

The above video is from last Saturday 2/13/16, but I did do a very similar workout today, except I did stability ball crunches instead of the ab tucks. It was a mini 16 minute ab workout before going to the gym… which I ended up spending 2+ hours at*!! O_O

*I normally don’t spend that much time at the gym, but I got carried away with my new playlist and before I knew it, I had spent over two hours there lol… Some say I’m nuts, I’d say I’m crazy. 😉

Anyways, the video shows some variations of ab tucks, which are great for the core. Tucking your abs really teaches you how to “squeeze” and engage your abs in any exercise. The only thing I wish is that I showed tuck jumps rather than burpees to go along with the “tucking” theme lol. Tuck jumps are also great for the core and REALLY get the heart rate up.

ball tuckxx


The entire circuit has 4 exercises and is 50/10 format.
50 seconds work / 10 seconds rest.

You can repeat the circuit as many times as you’d like. I did 4 repetitions, giving me a 16 minute ab workout.

Foam Roller Plank Tucks
Burpees (or Tuck Jumps)
Boat Ab Tucks
Stability Ball Plank Tucks

Give this circuit a try! It really set my abs on fire after those 16 minutes. Let me know how it goes. 🙂 💪


2/26/16 Update!

Did this exercise again but in a different circuit with different exercises. Since I keep my workouts logged in a Word doc, I might as well paste it here.

The entire workout as 3 parts. I did the first two parts in my dorm room, and the last part (cardio) at the gym.

Part 1: ([50/10] x 8 ) * 4 rounds

Circuit 1

Foam Roller Plank Tucks w/ Ankle weights
Sliding Foam Roller L Sit
Ankle weight side to side Ab Tucks
Plank Side to Side Tuck Jumps

Circuit 2

Superwoman Plank Switches
Down Dog 3-Leg Stretch + Plank Tuck
Tuck Jumps
Plank Jacks

Part 2: 2 minutes each exercise (10 min total)

Boat tucks /switch between/ Row your boat Pose
Plank Tucks
Bicycles
V ups /switch between/ V hold
2 min Plank hold

Part 3: Cardio

(10 min elliptical, 10 min run) x 2 = 40 min cardio!


 

Leave a Reply

