Asian Cod en Papillote with Shittake Mushrooms + Edamame

Today’s post-workout late lunch / more like linner. Reeeally could have used a bigger plate. Look at this awful plating.

Baked Cod Quinoa

Sharing anyways because I tried a new method of cooking fish today!

I’d just come back from a gym workout (which went aaweesome — so much energy today), was super hungry, and didn’t know what to cook. Had some wild cold and some parchment paper, so I tried making Cod en Papillote for the first time. I’ve seen people make this before, but I didn’t look up a recipe beforehand and just winged it…

In the parchment pouch, I put in wild cod + ginger, garlic, scallions + shittake mushrooms, frozen edamame + soy sauce, sesame oil, white pepper, salt. Next time I’ll add some shaoxing rice vinegar and chili paste.

IMG_8749

Didn’t know what the hell I was doing, but this didn’t turn out bad when it came out of the oven! This is how I come up with most if not ALL of my recipes. I justΒ fool around in the kitchen not having a clue what I’m doing haha. If you want to learn how toΒ cook, that’s how you start. At least that’s what I do anyway.

So on the plate: quinoa (leftovers), fresh stir fried baby bok choy with garlic, steamed kabocha, and the cod. And a spicy miso tofu soup in the back.

Baked Cod Kabocha

Can’t wait to try it again now that I know what not to do. πŸ˜‰

IMG_8734x

6 thoughts on “Asian Cod en Papillote with Shittake Mushrooms + Edamame

      1. I roasted it last night – a little too long so it became tough and a little browned. 😦 Still delicious, though! My mom makes an AMAZING veggie kabocha soup that becomes so thick and stew-y, and I love it with spinach and quinoa stirred in! I want to try steaming it.

        Like

      2. Yeah steaming kabocha for just 18 minutes is perfect! I love starchy kabocha’s the best. πŸ˜‰ Oo that kabocha soup sounds soo good! Love kabocha soup more than pumpkin soup haha πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

