❤️ Strawberry Heart Pancakes 🍓 // High Protein, Gluten free

Strawberry protein pancakes Healthy Valentine

❤️ Sweet heart pancakes, swirled with chopped strawberries 🍓 that turn sweet and caramelized when cooked, and then drizzled with “bleeding LOVE” sauce: a dark red icing that is also sugar-free and has no food dye.

DSC07830x.jpg

These strawberry pancakes are so thick and fluffy that you’d never guess they’re only 212 kcal for 4 pancakes and 25 g protein!

Strawberry Protein Pancakes Valentine Healthy

What are you making on Valentine Sunday morning?

Love? Or pancakes? How about both? 😉

This year’s Valentine’s Day falls on a Sunday, so I think the perfect way to treat your sweet heart on Valentine morning is pancakes, but not just any pancake: healthy and delicious heart-shaped strawberry pancakes! 🍓

On Monday January 25, 2016, a day after I made these awesome thick and fluffy Blueberry Protein Pancakes, I was craving pancakes again! Once I start pancaking, I can’t stop… But to change things up, I went with strawberries instead of blueberries.

So I whipped up the very simple batter and folded in strawberries, pulled out the cookie cutter, and things got a little crazy.

This was the first time I tried frying pancakes in a cookie cutter and wasn’t so sure how’d they turn out…

IMG_2459x

Success! Look how thick and fluffy!!!

That Monday morning, all I wanted was simple strawberry pancakes, and somehow I ended up with this…

DSC07788x.jpg

People ask me how I come up with my food creations, and thing is I don’t even know. I don’t plan ahead of time what I’m going to make. I cook what I feel like having that moment, and things like these pancakes just happen as a combination of my craving / creativity / and pretty much craziness.

DSC07793x.jpg

Anyways, these protein pancakes are low fat, gluten free, sugar free, aaaand super delicious.

IMG_2533x.jpg

Instead of maple syrup, I drizzled them with “bleeding LOVE.” ❤️ Haha I didn’t mean for the icing to make the pancakes look like bleeding hearts… but it ended up looking a lot like that. >.< But really a deep red icing that is sugar free and has no food dye! (See below I made the sugar free red icing.)DSC07824c.jpg

My only complaint about this pancake is that I did not make enough of the red icing, so I would definitely double up on that!

DSC07831xx.jpg

 In addition to the LOVE sauce, I also sprinkled on pink coconut flakes.

Lastly, even though making these pancakes in cooking cutters is not difficult, if you don’t want to go through the fuss, you can certainly cook them in round shapes! I made a couple regular pancakes to show that they are just as romantic, fluffy, and most of all delicious.

IMG_2556x.jpg


Strawberry Heart Pancakes // serves 1, but very easily doubled!
high-protein, gluten free, fat-free, high-fiber

The entire recipe (4 pancakes) is just 212 kcal; 4F, 16C (7g fiber), 25 grams protein!

10g soy protein powder (unsweetened, Bob’s Red Mill brand)
6g (1 tbsp) golden flaxmeal
15g (2 tbsp) coconut flour
8g (1 tbsp) oat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
Pinch salt
140g (3) egg whites ~or~ 1 egg + 1 egg white
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1+ cups chopped fresh strawberries

Coconut oil, for frying

If making heart-shaped pancakes: a metal or silicone heart cookie cutter.

Toppings (ideas):
LOVE icing
Pink coconut
Fresh strawberries
Cacao nibs

Mix the dry ingredients. Add in egg whites and vanilla extract. Gently fold in chopped strawberries with a spatula. Preheat a nonstick pan to medium heat, greased with coconut oil.

If making heart-shaped pancakes, grease the inside of a heart-shaped cookie cutter with coconut oil.

Place the cookie cutter directly on the preheated pan. Gently spoon the batter into the cookie cutter. When flipping the pancakes, flip the pancakes along with the cookie cutter (be careful).

With the cookie cutter, the pancakes take longer to cook, so you’ll have to be a little more patient.

Do the pancake routine! Flip the the edges are golden and bubbles start to form. 🙂

Remove the cookie cutter after you take the pancakes out of the pan.

IMG_2459x

Don’t forget to snap a photo of your creation and share it with me on Instagram @vivanttang! I’d love to see your variation!


To make the LOVE icing, all I did was mix Swerve confectioner’s sugar (you can also use regular confectioner’s), beet powder, and a teeny tiny bit of almond milk until an icing forms.

Swerve Sugar Free Icing Valentine

For the pink coconut flakes, I just mixed regular unsweetened coconut flakes with a tiny bit of beet powder.

 

Enjoy these lovely pancakes!! I think they’re the perfect treat for Valentine morning. Healthy, simple, delicious… that’s what I call romantic. 😉

Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤

3 thoughts on “❤️ Strawberry Heart Pancakes 🍓 // High Protein, Gluten free

Leave a Reply

