Sunny Turmeric Oatmeal

🙌 Just finished my last exam! The hardest part of final week wasn’t even the exams themselves but trekking through the friggin’ frigid weather to take them. 😱

Ok a bit exaggerating, but the weather wasn’t helping…

This bowl of oatmeal, on the other hand, did.

This kind of weather calls for something hot and comforting, like this 🍌 turmeric banana porridge that I’ve had for breakfast on Tuesday morning before a day of studying (picture above). And then another one today Wednesday morning before hitting the gym, followed by a day of cramming for my evening final. Priorities. 😂 (Picture below – oatmeal, btw, is my favorite pre-workout meal.)

IMG_1066xx

Anyways, this is just a quick blog post to show how you can incorporate more turmeric into your diet. Part of my trick to healthy eating is having a variety of spices in my meals, and turmeric is one of those “superfoods” full of antioxidants, anti-inflammatory, anti-cancer benefits. It’s also super underrated and super affordable! You can find turmeric just about anywhere, but I think South Asian / Indian food stores sell them at a great price with great quality as well.

Adding turmeric to your oatmeal does add a tiny bit of flavor; it tastes like a “bitter” version of ginger. I only add a tiny bit, so I can’t really taste the difference. Or it could be that I’ve been eating turmeric for almost a year now that I’m so used to its kind of strange flavor.

IMG_1063x

Not only does turmeric add nutrition, it also gives your food a bright yellow color. Yellow is one of my favorite colors, and we do eat with our eyes, after all… In fact, a lot of the times I use turmeric isn’t for its nutrients but for the added color. I love it – great way to add some sunshine on a cloudy morning. ☀️

Read on for this oatmeal’s recipe!


Sunny Turmeric Protein Oatmeal
Serves 1

40 g (1/2 cup) rolled oats
1 to 1.25 cups boiling water
1-2 egg whites (optional)
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
Sweetener: stevia or honey (3-4 drops liquid stevia ~or~ honey to taste. Honey and turmeric goes very well together!)
1/2 tbsp flax (optional)
Pinch salt

Toppings (just ideas!)
Bananas, berries, whatever fruits you want
Almond butter, peanut butter
Nuts, seeds, etc.
More almond milk

1/8 to 1/4 tsp ground turmeric (go easy on it if you’ve never had it before)

On the stovetop, add in your boiling water. You can also boil water from the stove top, but I have a water boiler, so I just pre-boil the water to quicken up the process.

Add in your oats. Cook for 5-10 minutes, until oats have absorbed the water. Then add in your egg whites, if using.

Oats already have a good amount of protein in them, but I need extra protein to feel full, so I love adding egg whites to my oatmeal. It gives them an extra fluffy creamy texture, plus added protein, of course. You can tell the difference the egg whites add in texture just from the pictures above. The bowl I had on Tuesday had egg whites (more fluffy / creamy), and this morning, I ran out of egg whites, so didn’t add any to my oatmeal. Turns out not as creamy / fluffy.

Anyways… then add in your sweetener, flax (if using), almond milk. Stir a bit. Shut off heat.

Add in your pinch of salt and, lastly, turmeric. I think it’s important to add the turmeric last, so that you don’t cook it and preserve its nutrients.

Then just top your oatmeal with whatever you want! Yesterday morning I was feeling bananas and almond butter, so that’s what I did!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Sunny Turmeric Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

