Bok Choy Shrimp and Veggie Stir Fry

Just a little recipe for a quick yummy stir-fry. This was yesterday’s dinnerΒ after I had just finished a tough but awesome workout.

The workout yesterday was an upper body lifting sesh + 3 mi run. It left my arms feeling so sore (they’re still a bit tired from just typing this haha). I had also been sitting for the most of yesterdayΒ studying for a final that I had in the afternoon, so after I finished the exam, I was feelingΒ … actually very tired … but… they don’t want me to workout, they don’t want me to sweat, they don’t want me to succeed.

But to sweat is to succeed, and so success is what I will achieve. Hahaha channeling my inner DJ Khaled. πŸ˜‰

Anyways, so after that workout, I needed something nutritious and delicious and could be made in like 10 minutes. This is it. I love this dish because it’s just a huge bowl of different textures and flavors. Crunchy bok choy, tangy soft tomatoes, tender shrimp… Yum!

And the “recipe” isΒ super simple, and I say “recipe” because you can do whatever you want with it. Add whatever veggies you like. Use whatever seasonings you like. Vegetarian? Use Tofu. Use Beans.Β It’s your stir-fry. It’s your dish. It’s not mine. I don’t give an eff what you do with it. All I want is for you to make good choices. Healthy choices. Delicious choices. Feel good.Β Okay I’ll stop. Hahaha. Motivational speaking is definitely not for me.Β πŸ˜‚

But seriously, very versatile and super fast. I make this all the time when I’m at school.Β All you need is just one pot to make this, and you got an entire meal full of nutrients, colors, and protein!


Bok Choy and Shrimp Stir Fry
Serves one HUGE serving
I eat a lot of vegetables (I’m basically a panda), but this may be enough for two if you double the shrimp.

1 tsp coconut oil
3 cloves garlic (yes I love garlic)
Chili flakes
1/4 medium yellow onion
Sweet peppers
2 roma tomatoes
4 bunches of bok choy (about 5-6 cups chopped)
4 oz raw shrimp (peeled)
+ Whatever veggies you want

Salt
Chili garlic sauce
Shaoxing rice wine (optional)
+ Whatever spices (paprika would be nice I’d think)

Heat a wok on high. While it heats up, chop (or mince / whatever you want)Β the garlic, chop the onion, you know the drill… For the bok choy, I chopped them into 1/2 inch pieces, and then I kept the leaves and the stalks separated. You’ll see why later on in the recipe.

Once the wok is high (depending on how strong your stove is), add in the coconut oil, garlic, chili flakes, onions. Stir fry until fragrant. Then add inΒ first the bok choy stalks. They take a lot longer to cook than the leaves, so I add them in first. Stir fry for a couple minutes until bok choy stalks start to soften.

Add in the peppers, tomatoes, or whatever veggies you want. Once almost cooked to your liking, add the bok choy leaves. Stir a bit until almost wilted, and then add in your shrimp. Cook for just a couple minutes until it’s cooked.

Season with salt, chili garlic flakes, shaoxing rice wine. Shut off the heat.

Enjoy immediately.

Leave a Reply

