Peanut Butter Jelly Muffins // whole grain, sugar free, high protein

Three little words…

Healthy PBJ Muffins

A child’s worst nightmare.

Back.
To.
School.

!!!

Given that I’m still a child, those words sound pretty horrendous to me. Last semester of college…ready to graduate but not ready to do all the work to get there. And… write my thesis. UGHHH… Do not want to go back to school right now.

Healthy PBJ Muffins

Luckily, I still have a couple weeks left of break, but I know many are returning to reality tomorrow, so I have a better sounding three little words for y’all: Peanut Butter Jelly. ❤

When it comes to school or work snacks, I think granola bars come to mind, but why have a dry oat bar when you can have a fluffy cakey peanut butter muffin, stuffed with sweet jam in the middle, for the same amount of calories and 3 times the protein?

Yup, these muffins are whole wheat, sugar-free, high fiber, high protein. They are less than 120 kcal a muffin, 9 grams of protein each.

That’s because unlike many other peanut butter jelly muffin recipes, I use peanut flour instead of peanut butter to flavor the muffins, making them high in protein and lower in fat.

Healthy PBJ Muffins

These are great for grab-n-go snacks, or you can “frost” these with good ol’ peanut butter for a nice easy breakfast.

I actually made these muffins in the summer a few months back but never got around to sharing the recipe. Since PBJ is never out of season, I thought they’d be good for back-to-school season, spring semester edition.

As always, if you make this recipe, snap a pic and share it with me on Instagram! @vivanttang


PBJ Muffins

makes 5 // whole wheat, sugar free, high protein

1 cup (120 g) whole wheat flour
1 tbsp (6 g) flax
1/4 cup (30 g) peanut flour
2 packets granulated stevia (or 3-4 tbsp regular sugar)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
Pinch salt

1/2 cup (130 g) almond milk
1 egg
1 egg white

~2 tbsp of jam for filling (I used my homemade strawberry chia jam)
optional: peanut butter in the filling as well

Whisk dry. Add in milk and eggs. Mix until just combined. Pour into muffin tins (I greased mine with coconut oil). Fill with jam and/or peanut butter.

Healthy PBJ Muffins

350*F, 30 +/- minutes.

117 kcal; 2F, 19C (4g fiber, 1g sugar); 9P


Enjoy!

xx, vt

Leave a Reply

