Eggnog Coconut Pancakes πŸŽ… // whole grain, high protein, healthy

If you have leftover eggnog, I’ll first say that these pancakes aren’t actually made with eggnog… 😏 But! I’m calling them eggnog pancakes because that’s what they taste like. πŸ˜‰ They have more eggs than a typical pancake batter, giving them a nice richer flavor and fluffy texture.

That said, you can definitely use up leftover eggnog in this pancake recipe. The most important ingredient is probably the nutmeg because it’s what makes these pancakes taste like the holidays.

Egg Nog Pancake
Christmas morning 2014

These pancakes are high fiber because in addition to the whole grain flours, I used coconut flour and flax seed. Flax adds healthy fats, and coconut flour adds a subtle coconut flavor but most importantly makes the pancakes extra fluffy. I also used yogurt instead of milk in these pancakes, making them high in protein.

Egg nog Pancakes 2
Topped with homemade cranberry chia maple syrup,Β coconut butter, yogurt, coconut flakes, goji berries.

I made these pancakes last year 2014, and it was a great way to kick offΒ Christmas morning. πŸŽ…πŸŽ„ This year, I made these Red & Green PancakesΒ for Christmas brunch, but I’m thinking about making these again for a holiday brunch! Since I don’t really eat dairy anymore, I’m going to try dairy-free version of this recipeΒ using silken tofu and soymilk.

As always, if you make this recipe, let me know how it goes. Snap a pic and share it with me on Instagram.

Enjoy and Happy Holidays! 😘


Notes

  • If you want to use eggnog in the recipe, you canΒ removeΒ one of the eggs and and use 1 cup of eggnog of your choice. You can also use a dairy free eggnog.

  • Dairy-free option:Β skip the yogurt and use 3/4 cup non-dairy unsweetened milk.

  • Gluten-free option: use all oat flour, but be sure to add in the flax seed meal if using only gluten free flours.

  • If you don’t have coconut flour, you can try adding 2 tbsp more of flour. Coconut flour absorbs more liquid than regular flour.

  • Sweetener options: use all maple syrup or even sugar if you don’t use stevia.

 


 

Eggnog Pancakes // whole grain, sugar free

Makes 4 servings (12 largish pancakes)

1.5 cups whole grain flour (I used 50g oat flour +Β 125gΒ whole wheat pastry)
1 tbsp (8 g) coconut flour
Β½ tbsp ground flax (optional)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
Pinch salt

2 large cage-free eggs
1Β egg white
1/2 cup (120 g) greek yogurt
1/4 cup (60 g) milk
1 tsp pure maple syrup
1/4 tsp pure stevia (or 1-2 tbsp more maple syrup)
Pure vanilla extract

Coconut oil or butter for greasing the pan.

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl with a whisk. Make a well in the center, crack in the eggs, greek yogurt, milk, sweetener of choice, vanilla. Fold with a spatula. The batter should be thick!

Let your batter sit for at least 10 minutes. I think this is key to great pancakes. Meanwhile you can prep your toppings or wash fruits, make coffee, have your cousin clean up the mess you just made hahaha. See below for my topping ideas! And let me know what you come up with. I’d love to try!

Preheat a pancake griddle to 325-350*F (I do in betweenish) or a pan on medium-high heat. Grease it with coconut oil. Once it’s hot, do the pancake routine!Β I got 12 largish pancakes out of this batter.

I also like to keep my finished pancakes in my toaster oven on the warm setting (200*F) while I’m cooking the rest of the pancakes.


Topping Ideas!

Homemade cranberry chia maple syrup (see below)
Coconut flakes
Goji berries
Greek yogurt sweetened with maple syrup
Coconut butter (melted)

For the cranberry maple syrup, I placed raw cranberries (actually frozen) in a saucepan and cooked them on medium-high heat until their waters naturally came out, and they started to pop. I did this before I got started on the pancake batter. While I was mixing the pancake batter, andΒ 10 minutes later, the cranberries were all cooked and reduced, and I added in a couple tablespoons of pure maple syrup and chia seeds. Let it sit a couple minutes before serving, so that the chia seeds plump up!


 

 

xx, vt

One thought on “Eggnog Coconut Pancakes πŸŽ… // whole grain, high protein, healthy

Leave a Reply

