Tang Biscotti, Three Ways 🍊🍫🍵 // Whole Wheat, Sugar-Free, Healthy

Not sure what to call these biscotti’s, so I just put my name on it lol. Not shame because these biscotti do have a Tang kitchen spin to them.

Although my family is not Italian, biscotti’s are a staple to us.

IMG_6298x.jpg

My mom first started baking them maybe a decade ago. She’d put her own spin on it by cutting the sugar, adding in extra nuts and seeds, making our version of a biscotti a pretty healthy snack. She also sliced them rather thin and square-shaped, instead of long and skinny like the traditional biscotti, making them easier to eat: super convenient and perfect for grab-n-go. I remember munching on these in between AP exams in high school or grabbing a couple before a run.

Freshmen year of college, I started missing my mom’s healthy convenient snack, so my mom would ship her homemade biscotti to me from home hahaha. #blessed When I started cooking for myself, I started putting my own spin on these, making my mom’s biscottis even healthier. These are 100% sugar-free and 100% whole wheat.

Despite being healthy, these are sooo delicious: delightfully crunchy and chewy at the same time. If you check out my Instagram video @vivanttang, you can hear how much crunch these got on them.

Hot chocolate egg nog biscotti healthy

The biscotti dough and the nuts gives them the crunch, and the dried fruits makes them chewy. So much yum and so much fun to eat. Also so satisfying because it’s not easy to find foods that are crunchy and healthy at the same time.

Speaking of crunch, these are the perfect vehicle for winter drinks. ☕ Although I eat biscotti year round, I especially enjoy them during the holiday season with a hot cuppa chocolate or tea latte, etc. Here I’m dipping them into a hot chocolate egg nog made with almond milk and egg whites. I’ll share how I made it if people let me know they’re interested on Instagram or something!

Healthy Hot Chocolate Biscotti whole wheat recipe by vivian tang

🎅

Unlike other biscotti recipes, mine are very easy to make, using up only one bowl and spatula.

Therefore, these are also the perfect last-minute Christmas gift, awesome addition to Christmas cheese boards, or if you’re just looking for a healthy and delicious Christmas cookie to munch on with your tea or cup of joe! If you’re traveling for the holidays, they are also a great healthy convenient snack!

Plus, I have a secret technique that makes these even easier to make.

Biscotti Chocolate Healthy Vivian Tang Recipe Cookies Christmas Sugar Free

Anyways, I share the picture above yesterday, when I was in the middle of slicing biscotti for their second round in the oven. I had planned on making a standard Cranberry Orange Walnut flavor, but then thought that since it’s the holidays, I might as well go crazy and make THREE different flavors: Matcha 🍵, Chocolate 🍫, and Orange 🍊.

So this recipe is basically a “one-dough, three profile” kind of recipe. In other words, my biscotti recipe starts with a basic dough, but you then you can customize it into whatever flavor you’d like, adding in your preference for dried fruits and nuts. 🙂

SONY DSC

My favorite flavors are chocolate almond (duh) and matcha pistachio. 🍵 That said, I also love the cranberry orange biscotti. The flavor profile is similar to the Cranberry Orange Walnut Bread (100% whole wheat) that I’d shared a few days ago. That recipe is perfect for the holidays, so be sure to check that out too.


Notes:

  • I say this for all my baking recipes, but I do not like my baked goods super sweet, especially when it comes to biscottis. I sweetened the biscotti dough with stevia, but I let the dried fruits shine and give the biscottis their sweetness.
  • If you do not use stevia, feel free to use 3-4 tbsp of sugar or honey to taste. You may need less or more. If I did not have stevia, I’d use only 1-2 tbsp of honey because I let the dried fruits act as the sweetener, but then again you may like it a bit sweeter.
  • The basic biscotti recipe is a 2 cup flour : 3 eggs ratio : 1 cup dried fruit : 1 cup nuts. So what I did to get three different flavors out of one dough was just divide the recipe by 3. I used 3/4 cup flour and 1 egg for each flavor profile.
  • “My secret technique.” Unlike other recipes, I like adding my nuts and dried fruits to the flour before adding the eggs. This makes is soo much easier to mix the biscotti dough together!

Vivian Tang’s Standard Biscotti Recipe // whole wheat, sugar free
Makes 2 long logs of biscotti, ~40 biscottis

*If you make these, please let me know how they go by commenting below, tweeting me @VivianRTang, or sharing a pic of it with me on Instagram! ❤ I’d love to know what spins you put on it. 🙂

2 cups (240 g) whole wheat pastry flour
2 tbsp (12 g) ground flaxseeds (or dark cocoa powder or matcha powder)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda (optional; I add it only if I remember)
Pinch salt

3 cage-free large eggs
1/3 tsp (about 30-40 drops) organic pure liquid stevia (to taste; see notes above for alternatives)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 cup dried fruits (cranberries, dried blueberries, raisins, or combo of anything)
1 cup toasted nuts and/or seeds (almonds, walnuts, cashews, etc.)


To avoid overcrowding what is already a picture-heavy blog post, I separate each flavor profile into a different blog post. I’ll also write a short description of what I added or replaced for each flavor, but if you want detailed explanations, click below for individual links. All biscottis use cranberries for the fruit because, well, it is Christmas time!

Cranberry Orange Walnut Biscotti 🍊
+ 1 tbsp fresh orange zest, 1/2 tsp almond extract

Healthy Whole Wheat Cranberry Biscotti Christmas Cookies Recipe by Vivian Tang
Matcha Cranberry Pepitas Pistachio Biscotti 🍵
1 tbsp matcha powder instead of flax
Mix of pistachios & pumpkin seeds

The matcha makes the dough slightly stickier than the other biscotti doughs.


Chocolate Cranberry Almond 
🍫
1 tbsp unsweetened extra dark cocoa powder instead of flax
Almonds for the nuts
Cacao nibs

Cocoa powder absorbs water, making this biscotti dough the most dense and dry, but that’s fine because they bake out just fine and extra chocolatey. 😉

Hot chocolate egg nog biscotti healthy



Baking Round 1

Preheat the oven to 350*F. Whisk your flour, baking powder, salt well. Then, add in your dried fruits and nuts and coat them in the flour mixture. Then, simply crack in 3 whole eggs. Before mixing the eggs with the flour, add in the stevia and vanilla to the eggs so that everything incorporates evenly.

Then, with a spatula, start breaking the yolks gently and incorporating the eggs with the flour, nuts, and fruits. The dough will at first be sticky, then it will seem to dry. If you follow the ratio exactly, it will not be dry! You just need to keep on mixing it carefully until a dough forms. The dough should be slightly pliable like (ugh I HATE using this analogy but…) play-dough.

Plop your dough onto a baking sheet lined with parchment or a silicon mat. On the baking sheet, form your dough into two logs. If you like your biscottis long and skinny, make your longs short and fat. If you are like me and like your biscottis short and fat (like the ones in my picture), make your long long and skinny.

Bake it in the oven for 25-30 minutes, depending on how you shaped you biscotti logs.


Slicing + Second Bake

SONY DSC

When your biscottis are done, they should be slightly puffed and golden. The kitchen should also be smelling amaaazing. You can either shut the oven off at this point, or leave it on and toast some nuts in it or something.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let your biscottis cool for at least 10-15 minutes.

Once cooled, preheat your oven again to 275*F. With a sharp knife, cut it in to slices. I don’t bother with cutting it on the diagonal because I like my biscottis on the thinner side, but you can slice it however thin or thick you’d like.

SONY DSC
Cranberry
SONY DSC
I love my biscotti Wafer Thin!

I actually love the taste and texture of biscottis before they are baked for the second round. It reminds me of bread. That being said, biscottis keep much better after they are baked twice because they’re crunchier and better for drink-dipping. 😉

Once you are finished with slicing, line up your biscottis on a baking pan. Bake it in the oven again for 30 minutes, flipping half-way so that each side gets crunchy.


Make these soon and enjoy!

Be sure to let me know how it goes by commenting below or sharing a pic of your biscottis with me on Instagram! I want to know what spin you put on these biscottis. ❤

Chocolate Biscotti Christmas

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. 🎅

xx, vt

Whole Wheat Biscotti


3 thoughts on “Tang Biscotti, Three Ways 🍊🍫🍵 // Whole Wheat, Sugar-Free, Healthy

Leave a Reply

