Leftovers on top of Kale… AKA Thanksgiving Round 2

“What I would do if I had Thanksgiving leftovers,”ย AKA Thanksgiving Round 2 disguised as a kale salad.

Healthy Thanksgiving Round 2 Salad

So, you know, you cansay that all you had on the day after Thanksgiving was a salad… when you’re really just doing Thanksgiving again. ๐Ÿ˜‰
Healthy Thanksgiving Round 2 Salad

But no regrets because it’s all healthy. Look at all the colors and nutrients!ย ๐ŸŒˆ So many flavors and textures yumyumyum.

Just what I needed after an HOUR LONG run!

IMG_5379x

I don’t know how and why, but today I ran for 60 minutes, ONE freaking HOUR, non stop. ๐Ÿ‘Ÿ 6.5 slow miles, but I haven’t ran that long of a distance in FIVE years. (I used to run 3-5 miles a day in high school lol.) At first I thought I completed a half marathon but then realized that would be 13.1… Lol. ๐Ÿ˜›

I’ve actually been running every day since Sunday (normally run 2-3 times a week). ๐Ÿ‡ Must be the cardio bunny in me trying to get the last glimpse of the beautiful fall weather before winter comes! ๐Ÿ‚ At least I’m putting all that cornbread and sweet potato to use! ๐Ÿ˜

But after the run, I started craving Thanksgiving foods again but didn’t have any leftovers and so spent the next hour redoing Thanksgiving. Smh. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Healthy Thanksgiving Round 2 Salad

I wish I could say I made this amazing salad with Thanksgiving leftovers, but only the corn, butternut soup, and sweet potatoes are leftovers.ย ๐Ÿ™ˆ

leftover salad

Yes,ย I made Thanksgiving sides again, including cornbread. So addicted. ๐Ÿ˜ย I made myย Fluffy Whole Grain Cornbread, but this time I added flaxseeds and replaced the yogurt withย soymilk. It turned out really good! Not as fluffy, more dense and crumbly, which is how I like it. I may write another recipe for this, if anyone is interested. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This isn’t really a recipe, but a “how-to” or link to all the recipes I used in this epic amazing delicious faux-leftover salad.


Healthy Thanksgiving Round 2 Salad

Thanksgivingย Round 2 disguised as a Kale Salad.

Salad
Base: Massaged kale with lemon juice, olive oil, salt + pepper, balsamic vinegar.
Protein: Roast Tofu with Mushrooms & Herbs & Garlic
Starch: Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes
Veggies: Brussels Sprouts with Red Onions
Xtras: Cranberry Relish, Steamed Corn Cob

Soup &ย Bread
Butternut Squash & Apple Soup (no recipe yet… coming soon!)
Flaxseed Cornbread (recipe also coming soon if requested)

Healthy Thanksgiving Round 2 Salad

 

What did you do your Thanksgiving leftovers? Were you also like me and didn’t have any leftovers and started craving Thanksgiving food again and so spent all evening in the kitchen?!

Instagram // @vivanttang

3 thoughts on “Leftovers on top of Kale… AKA Thanksgiving Round 2

Leave a Reply

