Whole Grain Yogurt Cornbread ๐ŸŒฝ

Probably one of my FAVORITE things about Thanksgiving dinner is CORNBREAD.ย ๐ŸŒฝย Actually, never mind Thanksgiving. Cornbread is good anytime. Breakfast, lunch, dinner. Soup, salad, snack. Yumm… I just LOVE CORNBREAD.

And I love this cornbread recipe! It’s healthy but tastesย just like regular ol’ cornbread but better with a nice crumb texture. This recipeย makes a large batch in a 9×13 pan, so it’s great for large crowds.

Healthy Wholegrain Yogurt Cornbread by Vivian Tang

Here’sย what is special about my cornbread recipe.

First of all, I like my cornbread to be mostly corn! Cornbread is typically made with two kinds of flour: cornmeal and wheat flour. I’m not a fan of cornbread that is mostly flour-based. 2/3 of the dry ingredientsย in this recipe is cornmeal, so it’s extra corny.ย ๐ŸŒฝ ๐Ÿ˜‰ (harhar). It just has this nice crumb texture which I absolutely love!!

Second, it’s also a lot healthier than your typical cornbread.ย Cornmeal is already a whole grain, and I take that further by using whole wheat pastry flour as the 2nd dry ingredient. I also lower the fat by using only 1 tbsp butter, but use applesauce and yogurt to keep it nice and crumbly and soft.

Third, the greek yogurt gives this cornbread a tangy flavor and soft texture.

This particular cornbread recipe has a nice crumb, which I love, butย I know there’s people who love those fluffy cake-like corn bread (or “corncake” I should call it ๐Ÿ˜› ), and I do have a recipe for that too! Below is a picture of a cornbread that also has that yummy crumbly cornbread texture but is also softer. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be posting the recipe for it tomorrow! It has less yogurt, more applesauce.

Healthy cornbread by Vivian (recipe)


Whole Grain Yogurt Cornbread
Bakes in a 9×13 pan; 24 servings // low-fat, higher protein

2.25 c (250 g) cornmeal
1 c (120 g) whole wheat pastry flour
2 tsp baking powder
pinch salt

1/2 c applesauce
1/2 c organic 1% milk, almond milk,ย ~or~ corn juice from canned corn*
1 tbsp organic butter, melted & cooled
8 oz non-fat greek yogurt
1 egg (cage-free)
10-20 drops stevia**
1 tbsp honey

Add-ins (optional): 1 cup of: cookedย corn kernels /ย dried cranberries / walnuts / or combination ofย all three!

*Sometimes I add in fresh corn kernels fresh from the cob. Other times, I’ll use canned corn. If I use canned corn, I’ll use corn juice from the canned corn instead of milk. The corn juice also adds corn flavor and natural sweetness.

**If you don’t have stevia, you can add 1-2 tbsp more honey. If you don’t want to use honey, you can use all stevia. Or you can just use plain sugar.

Mix the dry ingredients. Mix the wet ingredients. Mix together gently with a spatula, being careful not to overmix. The batter should be thick but pourable.

Fold in any add-ins like corn kernels, cranberries, nuts, if any.

Bake it in 400*F for 25ย minutes. It uses the same oven temperature and takes about the same amount of time as my Roasted Herb Tofu.

Roasted Tofu Mushrooms

Enjoy! Hope you love this cornbread as much as I do. ๐Ÿ™‚

1 piece: 77 kcal; 1f, 13c (2 fiber, 1 sugar), 3p

All my other Thanksgiving recipes also require a 400*F, so you might as well make them and throw it in the oven at the same time! ๐Ÿ™‚

Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Walnuts
Grape Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic Glaze

sweet potatoes maple roasted grape brussel sprouts thanksgiving

Hope you enjoy! Don’t forget toย snap a pictureย and share it with me on Instagram @vivanttang! โค


5 thoughts on “Whole Grain Yogurt Cornbread ๐ŸŒฝ

Leave a Reply

