Roast Tofu with Garlic, Herbs, and Mushrooms

Still can’t get over how amazing and delicious this Roast Tofu is! πŸ— 10x easier than handling a turkey and dare I say tastier?

I used to look forward to turkey every Thanksgiving, but not this year because of this tofu dish! It’s so flavorful, yummy, and the skin is slightly crispy.

Even meat eaters say they’d be OK eating this Roast Tofu overΒ turkey. That’s good enough for me… πŸ˜‰ Of course, this isn’t anything like meat, but I think it’s a yummy satisfying protein. πŸ‘Œ

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

This tofu dish is also very easy to cook.Β Roasting a turkey is a lot of work. It’s heavy. It’s requires brining. It’s really east to mess up and can turn out dry. So this year, I’m scraping the turkey out and going vegetarian / mostly vegan for the feast!

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

So, if you don’t want to deal with a fuss of a turkey this Thanksgiving but still want a delicious satisfying protein (or you have a vegan flocking around your dinner party haha), then this recipe has your name written aaalll over it. πŸ™‹

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

I came up with this recipe when I had half a block of pressed tofu lying around, and I was roasting some sweet potatoes, so I thought that I might as well bake the tofu as well. I seasoned the tofu with some soy sauce, spices, garlic, and 25 minutes in the oven later was glorious delicious and healthy tofu.

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

The taste was full of umami, and the texture was meaty and satisfying, and afterwards, I felt full and energized. I don’t know about you, but post-Turkey drowsiness and food babies aren’t fun. I still want room for pie (vegan pumpkin pie recipe coming soon)!

Also, this vegan recipe is fat-free! I didn’t intentionally set out to create a fat-free recipe, but after eating this and thinking it was so delicious,Β I realize that I didn’t add any oils to the tofu. It was so good without it, I kept it that way. πŸ˜€

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

Lastly, unlike turkey, this tofu recipe is really hard — really hard to mess up, that is! I know that one big problem with turkey is that it easily dries, but the thing is, youΒ can’t really overbake tofu. I’ve left it in the oven for 40 minutes once, and it was fine!

All you basically need to do is marinate tofu with soy sauce + spices and bake it in the oven.

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

However, the secret to making roasted tofu taste good is pressing a good amount of the water out, and you’ll need to do that at least 5-6 hours before the tofu bakes in the oven, so plan accordingly. You can start on the tofu either the night before or the morning of. The good thing is, the tofu only needs around 25 minutes in the oven, so you can make this on the morning of Thanksgiving with no worries. πŸ™‚


Roast Tofu with Mushrooms, Garlic, and Herbs
Serves 3-4, feel free to double or triple! // fat-free, vegan

STEP ONE. Press the tofu for 4-5 hours.

1 box organic firm or extra-firm tofu*

*Mine was a 14 oz box, butΒ 16 oz is fine too.

Cut the block of tofu into 3 half-inch wide rectangles. Wrap the sliced tofuΒ in clean cheesecloth or paper towels.

Then you need to press the tofu. I wish I’d taken a picture, but Β what I did was place the wrapped tofu onto a wire rack. You can do without the rack!Β Then I placed the tofu +Β wire rack under aΒ baking sheet (to catch the water as it drains). Then, on top of the tofu, I placed a glass baking dish, and in the baking dish, I added ankle weights (6 lbs total). You can use cans, books, or anything around 5-7 lbs pressing on the tofu.

(There are so many different ways to press tofu. You basically need something on top of the tofu to weigh it down, and then something on the bottom to catch the water.)

Press the tofu anywhere for 2-5Β hours, the longer the better!


STEP TWO. Cut the tofu into fun shapes (leaves)!

After 4-5 hours, the water from the tofu should have leaked out onto the baking sheet. You don’t need the water anymore. I gave it to my plants. πŸ˜›

Then cut tofu into desired shapes. You can also use a cookie cutter for this. I tried making it into a leaf shape, so it’d look less boring, but you can feel free to do whatever. (Rectangles taste delicious too.) I also cut small slits into the tofu leaves, so that I can stuff spices in there.


STEP THREE. Marinate the tofu for at least 30 minutes, and then bake.

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

Organic soy sauce: 4-6 tbsp (enough to cover all the tofu and mushrooms)
Fresh rosemary: 2-3 sprigs, leaves removed and chopped
Garlic: 2 cloves, minced
Dry spices: 1 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp sage, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil for greasing the pan

8 shittake mushrooms
1 head of garlic, cloves left whole
+ whatever veggies you prefer (thin sliced carrots would be great!)

Place your tofu in a 9×9 baking dish that’s greased with some olive oil to prevent sticking. If you are doubling the recipe, use a 9×13 dish. To the tofu, addΒ soy sauce (enough to cover each piece of tofu), spices, minced garlic.

Bake at 400*F for 25-30 minutes, until the outside is nicely crisp and the skin is golden brown / brown!

You can put it in the same oven as my Whole Grain Yogurt Cornbread or my Grape Roasted Brussels Sprouts. All of which use 400*F!

Healthy Wholegrain Yogurt Cornbread by Vivian Tang

roasted grape brussel sprouts thanksgiving Vivian Tang

The Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Walnuts take the longest but are definitely worth making. πŸ˜‰

Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Walnuts by Vivian Tang (Recipe!)


Anyways… STEP FOUR. Plate and make it puuurdy. πŸ˜‰

Roast Tofu with Herbs and Garlic recipe Thanksgiving

So normally, I don’t include plating as part of a recipe, but since it’s the holidays, here’s what I did! I just made a simple wilted kale salad by first “massaging” organic kale with extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, and s+p for a minute or so. It should wilt quite a bite within 10-20 seconds. You can then drizzle in some honey if the flavor of kale is too harsh for you. I love kale and am used to its flavor, so I don’t add the honey.

Then, I just top the roasted tofu, mushrooms, and garlic on top of the kale salad! πŸ™‚


Whew! That has got to be the longest recipe I’ve ever written, but I absolutely love this recipe, so it’s worth it. πŸ™‚ I hope that you will love it too! ❀

Snap a picture of your roasted tofu and share it with on Instagram @vivanttang! Tell me, what did you do to make it your own? Any fun spices you added? I imagine cumin + smoked paprika would be amazing too! 😊


Lastly, below is a picture that my friend made following this recipe! It made me so happy that he enjoyed it!!! Also shows thatΒ Rectangles can be delicious too. πŸ˜‰

Moments like these are what makes me feel so happy to have started a blog (even though it is a lot of work!),

TOFU BY KOCHIS

4 thoughts on “Roast Tofu with Garlic, Herbs, and Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

