Chia Cranberry Orange Sauce 🍊

Cranberry sauce is the most underrated Thanksgiving item that I think deserves more attention than opening a can.

The only explanation I can think of to why people still buy the canned stuff is because they don’t realize how easy and delicious homemade cranberry sauce is. I personally find fresh cranberry sauce a lot zestier and tastier than the weird jello-like thing that comes from the tin.

And… seriously check out that burgundy wine color on this. #NOFILTER. 🍷

cranberryx2

This sauce is extra special because it’s made with oranges! 🍊 I absolutely adore the combination of Cranberries and Oranges. Tart, sweet, zesty, tangy. So fresh and great on the Thanksgiving plate.

Cranberries are high in antioxidants, but when they’re coated in sugar, it kind of negates that. So I healthify this by dramatically cutting the sugar, using just orange juice, honey🍯, and stevia for sweetness. And I take an even further step and added chia seeds.

Cranberry chia sauce

And all you have to basically do is boil cranberries in orange juice. 🍊 The orange juice not only gives this a sweet and tangy flavor, but it also helps thicken the sauce. This is because orange juice naturally contains a lot of pectin, so you don’t have put gelatin or any strange ingredients in this sauce either!

Because the cranberry sauce itself is naturally thick, you don’t “have to” add chia seeds. What I normally do is separate the sauce into two bowls, add chia seeds into one bowl and one without. I honestly can’t tell the difference. The one with chia seed is slightly thicker, but not by that much, and it has added nutrition, so why not? 🙂

cranberry making


Chia Cranberry Orange Sauce
makes ~1.5 cups (12 oz) // vegan, low-sugar, sugar-free

2.5 cups cranberries
2/3 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
2 tbsp honey
10-20 drops stevia
pinch salt
orange zest
1 tbsp chia seeds *optional

Place cranberries and orange juice into a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, and then turn it down to a simmer. Then add honey and a pinch of salt. Taste. Add stevia to taste.

Simmer gently until the cranberries pop (8-10 minutes. Keep an eye on it!) When done, your cranberry sauce should be naturally thick! So you don’t have to add chia seeds, but if you like the texture and added nutrition, go ahead and add 1 tbsp chia seeds.

Top with extra orange zest for garnish. 🍊

Serve with your favorite Thanksgiving protein. Last year, I had this with roast turkey, but this year, I’ve started eating less meat and am planning to eat vegetarian for the first time on Thanksgiving dinner!! I think it’d be super easy because a week ago, I came up with this amazing Roast Tofu & Mushroom dish.

If you’re a vegetarian reading this… get excited.

Roasted Tofu Mushrooms

Not trying to brag, but this tofu is FREAKING DELICIOUS. I seriously wasn’t expecting anything when I threw some marinated tofu in the oven, but it came out golden crisp and full of flavor. It seriously tastes better than meat, in my opinion and is so much easier to handle than a turkey.

Aaand, yes the tofu goes well with this orange chia cranberry sauce!

The recipe for the Roasted Tofu is coming soon, so stay tuned! ❤


Also, I love having leftover cranberry sauce for sandwiches and salad dressings. For example… PBCJ (peanut butter cranberry jam) sandwiches. 😉 ❤

PBCJx.jpg


Enjoy! Check out my other Thanksgiving recipes here! (Or click the images below 😉)

If you try these recipes, remember to snap a pic and share it with me on Instagram @vivanttang! ❤

roasted grape brussel sprouts thanksgiving sweet potatoes maple

8 thoughts on “Chia Cranberry Orange Sauce 🍊

  1. I completely agree, everyone neglects the cranberries😞 but I’m glad I’m not the only one that insists on having fresh cranberry sauce on Thanksgiving! Thanks for posting this recipe, I would’ve never thought of adding Chia to cranberry sauce!

    Like

Leave a Reply

