Oil-free Hummus

I’ve been eating healthy for quite a while, but if there’s one “health food” I never really embraced, it’s hummus. I’d always buy a container of hummus, eat a bit, then forget and leave it in the fridge for way too long.

But recently, I’ve tried some pretty darn delicious brands of hummus. And lately, it’s all I’ve been craving!

Oil free hummus

And it’s so appropriate because Instagram tells me that it’s World Vegan Day.

Now, I know there’s more to vegan food that hummus, but I can’t help it if my craving is so basic. 😂

So when I was at the grocery store earlier today, I was about to buy a tub but then felt like making my own would be the best way to satisfy my craving. I reached for a couple cans of chickpeas instead.

Once I got home, I pulled out my food processor, and literally in 5 minutes, I had homemade hummus. Hommus Hummus Homemade Hummus!

Oil free hummus

This was my first time making hummus, and I can’t believe that it was THAT easy. It’s so fresh + tangy, creamy + satisfying, and much tastier than store-bought. Not to mention SO HEALTHY, lower in fat and calories.

So, if you never tried homemade hummus before, definitely give this recipe a try! And tell me what you think. Better than store-bought? This hummus is oil-free but still has that creaminess from the tahini (sesame butter). Also, this hummus is on the thick / chunky / creamy side versus runny. I know that traditional hummus is like the latter, but since I’m used to eating thick and creamy Asian bean pastes, I also like my hummus that way.

And so does Mei Mei, apparently! But she can’t eat any ’cause it’s got garlic in it. She did enjoy a good number of chickpeas though.

On this lazy Sunday afternoon, all I’ve been doing is pretty much eating hummus with my dog. 😂 Love Fall Break. 🙂

Oil free hummus

I top my hummus with roasted chickpeas but that’s another recipe blog post! 😉


 

Oil-free Hummus

Serves 4 people

1 can chickpeas (bpa-free), drained
1 tbsp tahini
juice of 1/2 lemon
1 garlic clove, minced
4 tbsp drained chickpea water from can
1/2-1 tsp salt (to taste!)
fresh black pepper
paprika, cayenne, thyme, etc. (whatever spices you fancy!)

Garnish: parsley, cilantro, roasted chickpeas, drizzle of olive oil, etc.

Process and enjoy!


My favorite way to eat hummus is alone (hahaha yes it’s so good by the spoonful), on a sandwich, or with cucumber and carrots!

What are some of your favorite ways to eat hummus?


Give this oil-free hummus a try! What do you think? Better than store-bought? Snap a pic and share it with me on Instagram @vivanttang! ❤

Leave a Reply

