Blackberry Chia Buckle // whole grain, sugar free

Blackberries get buckled up in a nutritious batter and topped with almond streusel. The result is a delicious crumb cake bursting with juicy summer berries.

This cake is soft and light but is also much healthier than the average buckle cake. It’s lower in fat, calories, and higher in protein and fiber, thanks to the chia seeds and its 100% whole grain and sugar-free batter. This buckle cake is a summer delight at breakfast, afternoon tea, or a dessert medium for homemade froyo. 😉


Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

I think the best way to enjoy summer’s berries is just as is. Fresh, juicy, and tangy sweet. If July had a taste, to me, blue and blackberries would be it.

Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

But whenever berry season rolls around, I go a little crazy, get a little too excited, and buy a little too much. My fridge is brimming with berries and so I buckle them up in a delicious cake to prevent them from crashing into the trash. (I can’t help being punny.)

Inside2

And I think you should too because this berry buckle is damn delicious!

Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

Although it’s called a blackberry buckle, it actually has a little bit of raspberries in them because I had some raspberries in the fridge so, why not? In fact, you can use any kind of berries you’d like in this buckle.

Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

The best part is, not only is this buckle cake so good, so soft, and has an awesome crumb texture, it is healthy too! Sure most buckle cakes are delicious, but not many of them are nutritious and delicious.

I first substitute the white flour with whole grain wheat, oat, and spelt flours. I think the combination of wheat and oat complements the summer berries really well and gives the cake a great texture.

The average buckle cake recipe calls for 1/4 cup butter, which isn’t that much, but I think just 2 tbsp butter is enough for that buttery taste and soft texture. I then keep the cake moist with applesauce, yogurt, and milk.

For sweetness, instead of sugar, I use all-natural stevia, but if you don’t have that or don’t like stevia, you can use plain sugar or honey.

Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

While the cake is great on its own, I love to serve it with a scoop of my sugar-free fat-free homemade froyo on the side.

Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

So buckle your berries up before they crash to the trash! 😉

Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang


Blackberry (and a little bit of Raspberry) Chia Buckle // 100% whole grain, sugar free
Makes 9 breakfast-size servings ~or~ 16 snack-size servings

Cake

1/2 cup (50 g) oat flour
1/4 cup (30 g) spelt flour (*if you don’t have spelt, you can substitute it with whole wheat! I just like combining flours)
1.25 (150 g) cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch salt

1 egg
1/4 cup (55 g) egg whites
2 heaping tbsp (35 g) organic butter (melted /or/ very warm lol)
1/2 cup applesauce
1/2 cup almond milk (or any other milk)
1 cup (225 g) organic plain yogurt (I used fat-free)
Pure organic stevia (to taste /or/ honey /or/ organic sugar)
1 tsp vanilla

2-3 cups berries (I actually only used 1 heaping cup blackberries, 1/4 cup raspberries, but I wished I had used more!)
1 tbsp ground chia (I just threw a tbsp into the coffee grinder)
Powdered stevia /or/ sugar, optional (I did not use. My blackberries were super sweet!)
1-2 tbsp chopped almonds, optional

Almond Streusel Topping
Before I threw the buckle in the oven, I actually wished that I made twice this amount of streusel topping, so I highly recommend that you double this amount!

3 tbsp (20 g) whole wheat pastry flour
2 tbsp (10 g) oat flour
Stevia to taste
Pinch salt
20 – 30 g (1/4 – 1/3 cup) almonds
1/2 tbsp (8 g) butter
1/2 tbsp (8 g) egg whites

Mix the flours and rest of the dry ingredients together. In another bowl, whisk the eggs, then add the melted butter, applesauce, milk, yogurt, stevia, and vanilla. Mix dry + wet, be careful not to overmix!

In another bowl, mix the berries with the chia seeds. The chia will prevent them from making the cake wet!

Generously butter a 9×9 baking pan. If you want, you can even dust it with a little bit of flour to ensure that your buckle doesn’t stick (I didn’t flour it because I greased the crap out of my pan.) Then pour roughly half of the cake mix into the pan. Top it with the berries + chia mix and almonds (if using). Then pour the remaining half on top of the berries.

Now, preheat your oven to 375*F.

Then make your streusel. Simply mix all the ingredients together.

Like I mentioned before, I highly recommend you double the streusel amount! In the pictures, I used the given amount in the recipe, which is not too shabby of an amount, but if you want an extra crunch and texture, double the numbers in the recipe. (You can also make the streusel before pouring the batter into the pan, but I didn’t want to wash an extra bowl, so I used the same bowl as the one I used for the cake batter. ;))

Top the cake batter with the streusel. Throw it (not literally lol) in the oven for 60 minutes (more or less). Test with a toothpick for doneness!

When it’s done, definitely let it cool but enjoy it soon! 😀

Fresh baked Fresh baked2

Nutrition info:
1/16 of the recipe (including streusel and almonds): 112 kcal; 4F, 15C (4g fiber, 2g sugar), 5P


I hope you enjoy this delicious buckle cake! I certainly did. If you make the recipe, share it with me on Instagram @vivanttang. I want to see what berries you buckled up! 😉

Vivian
Blackberry Buckle Vivian Tang

Leave a Reply

