Healthy Peanut Coconut Dressing // Thai Mango Mint and Basil Salad

Mango Shrimp close up

Who doesn’t love a SE Asian peanut sauce? Creamy, sweet, and salty… from spring rolls to cold noodles and even salad, peanut dressing makes everything tastes better.

In this recipe, I make peanut dressing with a hint of coconut to make the PERFECT summer salad: juicy mango chunks on top of organic baby greens. Unlike other peanut dressing, mine is low-fat, sugar-free, and even high in protein. This refreshing salad will leave you energized for summer. Add a choice of protein, and you got a perfect light and satisfying summer meal. 


I just bought the PERFECT case of mangoes – literally the sweetest and juiciest things I’ve ever tasted. I am addicted to these!

Mango

(The best part of the mango is the juicy meat around the pith, imo.)

Besides enjoying mango as is, one of my favorite ways to eat this intoxicatingly delicious fruit is on a thai salad, like what I had today for a light and delicious summer lunch.

thai dressing

It starts with the creamy peanut-coconut sauce to dress the salad. My recipe is low in fat and high in protein because I replace the peanut butter with peanut flour. However, it’s still creamy from the coconut milk. As yummy as the peanut sauce is, the star of the dish (mangoes!) still shine. Finally, to bring it all together and make the salad even more refreshing, I had bunches of mint and basil. I get mine fresh from the garden.

mango thai

The base of the salad is just 4 components: 1) ripe mangoes, 2) baby greens, 3) basil & mint, and 4) the peanut dressing, and the rest is totally customizable with endless possibilities!

For a light summer meal, I like to top the thai mango salad with:

  • Seafood: seared shrimp or leftover salmon**, or
    Mango Shrimp close up

  • Vegan: seared sesame tofu**, or
    thai mango sesame tofu salad peanut dressing

  • Crunchy: like today, when I simply enjoyed this salad with some roasted chickpeas, ormango thai

  • A combination of all three!
    mango shrimp thai tofu peanut dressing delicious recipe vivanttang

**I’ll post the recipe for shrimp mango salad and the tofu mango salad if y’all are interested!


Thai Mango Salad with Peanut Coconut Dressing

For one (feel free to double this if you like a lot of dressing or eat a lot of greens haha)

Peanut-Coconut Dressing // low-fat, sugar-free, high-protein
1 tbsp peanut flour (all-natural, 100% peanuts)
1 tbsp coconut milk
1-2 tbsp lime juice
1 tsp curry paste (I used red)
a few drops fish sauce (all-natural / if you don’t have it, leave out)
pinch salt, to taste
sriracha, to taste
optional: 1 tsp honey (when paired with mango, I don’t think sweetener is necessary!)

Mix all of the ingredients together!

Salad
Peanut-coconut dressing
Fresh baby greens
1 mango, cut into chunks
Fresh mint, fresh basil (I like to leave the leaves whole, but you can chop them)

Other topping ideas: these are some of my favorites.
Shrimp / Salmon
Sesame-seared tofu
Roasted chickpeas
Avocado (one of my fav!)
Red onions, finely chopped
Jicama (adds a nice crunch)
Jasmine brown rice
…What are some of your favorite toppings? Tell me in the comments or show me on Instagram! @vivanttang

mango thai2

If you give this salad a try, share it with me on Instagram @vivanttang! I want to see all the different topping ideas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

