Strawberry and Matcha Ice Cream Bites

Summertime, it’s hot and sticky, and I find myself walking to the fridge, taking a couple spoonfuls of ice cream straight from the tub, and then walking away. And this goes on throughout the day, multiple times a day. Although sometimes, instead of ice cream, I reach for some chunks of frozen banana (one of my favorite healthy frozen treats) or some pre-cut cubes of cold juicy watermelon… Tell me I’m not the only one who does this. xD I blame the Texas heat.

Ice Cream Bites

Don’t get me wrong, I love sitting down and enjoying a good ol’ bowl of ice cream (with toppings of course haha), but sometimes, especially during the summer, I just want a bite of something icy-cold, and then go off to returning to what I was doing again.

And so, I came up with what I’m going to call “Ice Cream Bites.” I love popping a couple of these after a sweaty run or as a post-workout treat before I head into the shower and eat a real meal. 😉 Or if I am in between running errands on a scorching summer day and really need a quick and icy-cold snack, these Ice Cream Bites do just the trick.

That being said, because each bite is so low in calories, these frozen treats are great for snacking whilst catching up on some summertime TV or for a family movie night. Or, share these with friends and serve at a BBQ for dessert (just make sure you serve them on frozen plates over ice)!

Ice Cream Bites Matcha Strawberry

Flower Bites1

Today, I’m sharing two flavors: Creamy Strawberry Yogurt and Matcha Avocado Ice Cream Bites drizzled in a crunchy coconut shell. The strawberry one is high-protein & the matcha is vegan and also high-protein. They are healthy, sugar-free, and sooo yummy. Not to mention pretty darn nice to look at if I may say so myself. I just looove the colors of pink and green together, reminds me of the pink summer flowers!

But of course, you don’t have to use flower molds. Mini muffin pans or even popsicle molds work great too!

Ice Cream Bites


Strawberry-Yogurt Ice Cream Bites // high protein, sugar-free

For 12 ice cream bites (depends on the size of your mold), easily doubled/tripled/etc.

>4 oz (1/2 cup) strawberries
2 oz (1/4 cup) cottage cheese (1 or 2% fat)
2 oz (1/4 cup) greek yogurt*
1/2 tsp vanilla
Pure liquid stevia: a few drops to taste (for me, 3-4 drops does the trick)
Pinch of salt

*For an extra creamy texture, use full-fat greek yogurt, but I have also tried this recipe with 0% greek yogurt. I think both tastes great, but of course, the full-fat yogurt is more creamy.

Combine all the ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour into mini muffin molds for bites or popsicle molds for popsicles. Freeze for a couple hours until frozen and voila! Enjoy. 🙂

For each bite (using full-fat yogurt): 11 kcal; 0F, 1C, 1P

Making Makign2

Matcha-Avocado Ice Cream Bites // vegan, low-carb, high-fiber, high-protein

For 12 to 14 ice cream bites

4 oz silken firm tofu*
4 oz avocado
2 tsp matcha powder
2 tsp honey (to taste)
1/2 tsp vanilla
Pinch of salt.

Same directions as above!

*Yes! Tofu and avocado in an ice cream! Sounds strange, but when blended together, you won’t be able to tell there’s tofu in here. The tofu adds protein and makes these bites creamy, while the high-fat (healthy fats) content from the avocado makes them rich and also creamy.

For each bite: 18 kcal, 1F, 1C (2g fiber), 1P

pre-freeze


Pink and Green “Coconut Shells”
I love eating these ice cream bites on their own, but if you want a little something something, douse the bites in these 100% naturally-dyed Coconut Magic Shells.

For pink beet shells
1 tsp pure beet powder
2 tsp coconut butter (melted)*
1 tsp honey (or stevia)
Pinch of salt

Combine above ingredients, making sure that the coconut butter is melted for easy incorporation.

When the ice cream bites are completely frozen, top the bites with the coconut butter, and watch the coconut bites “magically” freeze in seconds. 😉

drizzling

For green matcha shells
1 tsp pure matcha powder
2 tsp coconut butter (melted)*
1 tsp honey (or stevia)
Pinch of salt

Same thing as above!

*On my first trial, I made the coconut shell with coconut oil (not coconut butter) and the colors of the shell turned out muggy and dark. 😦 Not what I wanted! On my second trial, I used coconut butter, and the shells turned out bright! I also like the taste the of the coconut butter over the coconut oil as well. In the pictures shown, you’re seeing the ice cream bites from trial #1, which is why the shells are dark colored.


Pink and Green Coconut Flakes
To make the ice cream bites extra pretty and special, top them off with 100% naturally-dyed coconut flakes!

Pink coconut flakes: beet powder + unsweetened coconut flakes
Green coconut flakes: matcha powder + unsweetened coconut flakes

Watch the video above to see how I made the flakes!

 Bites yum

Just curious:

What are some of your favorite summertime TV shows?

I’m currently in between watching OINB and Empress of China (武媚娘) and am kind of addicted to Empress of China. Throughout the year, I normally only watch American TV shows, but there’s something about summer that makes me nostalgic for Chinese TV Dramas. Maybe it’s the length of the shows and the length of summer… Empress of China is 100+ episodes!


Don’t forget to share your creations on Instagram and tag me @vivanttang! I would love to see your rendition of these Ice Cream Bites! 🙂


Leave a Reply

