Chocolate-Covered Blueberry Stuffed French Toast

tl;dr Healthy is indulgent and delicious with this Blueberry-Chocolate Stuffed French Toast. 

I’ve been eating healthy since I was a high school freshman, which was what, 6-7 years ago? And to this day, I still eat pretty much healthy and clean on a year-round, regular basis.

Especially with young people around my age, healthy eating is taken with a “I’ll do it when I’m old” attitude, and so as a young adult who has been persistent and consistent with healthy eating, I am often asked if I ever am tired of it or get cravings for unhealthy foods, and the answer is: no I don’t!

In fact, when I was first asked that question, the thought that my eating style might be boring had never occurred to me.

Stuffed French Toast

And this is coming from someone who LOVES eating GOOD-tasting food! I won’t ever eat something just because it’s healthy (raw broccoli, for instance. Blech. Steamed sesame broccoli, on the other hand… ;P). I eat for health AND for taste.

So back to the question, I don’t ever get tired of eating healthy because healthy food can be as good as this:

sftblue1

Yummm…

Ya see, healthy eating is delicious, fun, and indulgent!

SONY DSC

One of my absolutely favorite things to do is coming up with “healthy indulgences”: treats that tastes oh-so-good you’ll forget how healthy they are.

Stuffed french toast is one of those healthy indulgences: it’s beyond delicious, you won’t believe how rich in antioxidants, protein, healthy fats, and fiber it is. Yummy and healthy: that’s what I call an all-around great way to start your day!

SONY DSC

Like I said, I started eating healthy in high school, and stuffed french toast was one of the things I came up with that has helped me continue eating healthy for years and has also made me realize how delicious a healthy and nutritious diet can be.

SONY DSC

It’s all about swaps that makes the dish not only healthier but yummier. For instance, for stuffed french toast, the main culprit is all that cream cheese and sugar. In my opinion, cream cheese is waaay too rich for a fueling and energizing breakfast, so instead of that, I stuff the french toast with protein-rich yogurt and cottage cheese. And because this is a healthy treat, it’s gotta be sweet, but instead of sugar, I sweeten with all-natural stevia.

The best thing about this meal is that it’s easy as making a PBJ sandwich, only a couple extra step of soaking it in egg whites and frying it.

SONY DSC

Each bite is bursting with sweet blueberries, creamy yogurt, and delicious rich nut butter. Make this and prove to your friends, family, and to yourself that healthy eating is easy, delicious, and never boring.

SONY DSC

Blueberry-chocolate Stuffed French Toast
Serves 1. Easily doubled, tripled, quadrapled for a healthy brunch. 😉
Nutritional benefits: sugar-free, high protein, antioxidants, healthy fats, fiber-rich

Two slices of whole grain bread (I used sprouted flax bread)
Low-fat cottage cheese: 40 g (2-3 tbsp)
Greek yogurt 0%: 60g (4 tbsp)
Liquid stevia: a few drops (to taste)
Cocoa powder: 1 tbsp
Flax: 1 tsp
Fresh blueberries (organic): 1 – 1.5 cups
Nut butter: 1+ tbsp (almond butter, peanut butter, etc.)
Butter (for cooking)
1 egg white
Vanilla: 1/4 tsp

Cocoa powder: 1-2 tsp
Milk (regular, soy, almond, etc.)
Stevia

Make a sandwich

Mix together the cottage cheese, greek yogurt, cocoa powder, stevia, flax, and blueberries.
Get two slices of bread. Spread nut butter on one slice. I couldn’t decide whether I wanted peanut butter or almond butter, so I used half and half. 😛 (See picture below.)

On the other side, put the cottage cheese / yogurt mixture.

SONY DSC

Make the french toast

Add the vanilla to the egg whites. Soak the sandwich in the egg whites on both side. Heat a nonstick pan on medium-high and add a tiny bit of butter. Fry the sandwich on one side, until its golden brown, about a couple minutes. Flip and fry the other until golden brown.

Serve and enjoy!

To serve, I drizzle it with chocolate sauce that I made by simply mixing cocoa powder, milk, and stevia to taste. Top with fresh blueberries.

Enjoy this indulgently healthy and delicious breakfast!!!

*Don’t forget to share your healthy and delicious creations on instagram and tag me @vivanttang! I’d love to see you rendition of this french toast!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

One thought on “Chocolate-Covered Blueberry Stuffed French Toast

Leave a Reply

