Chicken, Kale, Yams

Or, seared chicken breast and purple sweet potato over tenderized kale

These are a few of my favorite things.

CHICKEN

Chicken, Kale, Yams.

I’m not big on simple flavors – I love spicy food way too much and am pretty much incapable of eating a savory meal without wanting to douse it in someย form ofย chili’s.

But there are days I just want meat and potato meal.
This isย quick and easy to put together +ย delicious and comforting.

The thing about kale salads is that I find they go incredibly well with hot toppings like hot yams and seared chicken.

So, for theย massaged kale salad.ย My kale variety preference is dinosaur orย lacinto kale rather than the curly kale. Give them a wash, destem the leaves, and then roll the leaves up, chopping them into thin shreds and transfer them into a deep bowl..

In goesย salt, lemon juice,ย and a drizzle of eitherย extra virgin olive oil orย sesame oil.

Massage the dark tough greens under tender and wilted. The volume of the greens should decrease by at least half.

Season with fresh black pepper.

That’s the base of a kale salad. Simple, but you can also switch it up by adding some honey or other spices. As for me, I like to add some hot chili sauce andย sprinkle in a bit ofย nutritional yeast for flavor. Nutritional yeast, if you never had it before, has a very nutty savory flavor. I really like it. It’s sorta like a vegan parmesan. Kinda.

I let theย kale mix site and searย the chicken breast and yams.

Chicken breasts. I like organic. Salt + pepper. Sear in coconut oilย on medium-high until cooked.
Purple sweet potatoes. Previously steamed & cooked. Sliced into rounds. Sear both sides also in coconut oil on medium-high.

By the way, coconut oil + yams = FLAVOR PARTY.

To serve. To the plate, in goes the kale.ย I usually add in someย pumpkinย seedsย on top of the kale. I guess I didn’t this time. Then top the kale withย cooked chicken and hot seared yams.

Ready to eat!

And I did proceed to top this with chili-garlic sauce after.ย Incapable of not eating spicy food…

SONY DSC

Kale. Even my pupย approves. She’s a bit of a nutter. Sure, she goes crazy for meat, but she also loves eating veggies. Just like her human mama.

3 thoughts on “Chicken, Kale, Yams

Leave a Reply

